go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

American History Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Databases

For a brief online tutorial click this link  How to...Using Databases  
America : history and life
  A major index to Americana, including history and cultural traditions. (1982+)
History Compass
  History Compass is an online resource which publishes original survey articles within 9 online journals, combined with a range of useful reference resources.
Index to Black periodicals
  Available only in print at SREF301.4519605/3 (1984+)
Index to periodicals which focus on African American issues.
New York Times 1851-2001  full text
  Full text of this major US newspaper. PDF format. Index to New York Times 1851-1995.

Multidisciplinary databases

Academic Research Library full text
  One of the Proquest databases. Good coverage of American History.
Expanded Academic full text
  Provides international coverage of academic journals, magazines and newspapers. (1980+)
JSTOR full text   1800+
  Provides retrospective full text access to a range of journals. Click on browse to see the range of journals included, or search across a range of journals.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
Periodicals Archive Online
  Similar to JSTOR in providing full text access to older issues of journals. Click on browse to see the range of journals included, or search across a range of journals.
Project Muse full text
  Provides access to over 40 Johns Hopkins University Press academic journals. Coverage includes history.
  Full text resource to numerous topic areas, including history.
Wilson Omnifile full text
  Includes coverage of the Social Sciences Index, The Humanities Index and Reader's Guide.

Subject specific databases

Alternative Press Index
  Strong emphasis on minority cultures, ethnic groups and race relations within the United States (1991+)
  Although focusing on Hispanic and Latin American countries, this database is useful for United States relations in this region. (1970+)
International Political Science Abstracts
  Indexes political science journals in many languages.
Keesing's Current Events
  Provides objective accounts of the world's key events, and is one of the most comprehensive and reliable digests of current international affairs. Only in print, beginning in 1931, at SREF909.8205/1
Left Index
  Broad coverage of a range of literature from the Left. (1982+)
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service)
  International coverage of international relations and current events. Strong coverage of the United States (1972+)
Poole's index to periodical literature
  Indexes newspapers and journals from the 19th century.
Only in print at SREF050/8/(1-6)
Sage Race Relations Abstracts
  Strong emphasis on ethnic groups within the United States.
Also  in print at SREF301.45105/8 (1976+)
Women's Resources International
  Broad ranging coverage of women's history (1972+)

Libraries Australia & Web of Science

Libraries Australia  
Formerly called Kinetica. Useful database for finding the location of items in other libraries in Australia. Includes holdings for 850 Australian libraries. 
Web of Science
Provides citation indexing, which is searching to find out who has cited a particular book or journal article. 

Theses Databases

 Sirius Theses page
  This is a link to the Sirius Thesis page which lists all the main resources for theses including Writing and presenting your thesis or dissertation . This can be independently navigated by clicking Sirius, clicking Find Resources, click Locate  and using the Type dropdown menu, select Theses.
  Replaces Digital Dissertations. Covers North American theses from 1861 onwards, with abstracts included from 1980. Includes UNSW doctoral theses (from 1974) and theses from most universities in Great Britain (from 1988). Of the  more than 2 million listed, more than 600,000 of the more recent theses are now available for immediate free download. 
Index to theses
  Contains records of theses accepted for higher degrees by the Universities of Great Britain and Ireland.
Australian Digital Theses Program full text
  Australian theses. The ADT database provides access to PhD and Masters by Research theses only. Theses available to download in PDF format.