go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

American History Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference ResourcesInternet Links

Key Resources

America : history and life
  A major index to Americana, including history and cultural traditions. (1982+)
Academic Research Library full text
One of the Proquest databases. Good coverage of American History.
American Historical Documents 1000-1904
  The 47 treaties, speeches, historical accounts and governmental documents in this collection trace the United States from the settling of the continent to the founding of the country to the Civil War and early twentieth-century international relations.
Oxford Reference Online full text
  Online access to a large range of Oxford reference resources. Includes The Oxford Companion to United States History and The Oxford Companion to American Military History.
Catalogue Library Resources Database (LRD)
 
The LRD is the Library's catalogue. It is a complete listing of all items held by the Library, in all formats and is a good starting point for finding information. Use the LRD in particular to search for books relating to your topic of interest.
 
The following are some suggested search terms in the LRD.
 
african americans civil rights
african americans history
civil rights movements united states history 20th century
cold war
culture diffusion america history
indians of north america [use for indigenous americans]
memory social aspects united states history
slavery america [use for both north and south america generally]
slavery united states [use for the U.S. in particular]
united states emigration and immigration
united states foreign relations australia* [* include the name of any country here, e.g. cuba]
united states history
united states history civil war, 1861-1865 
united states history revolution, 1775-1783
united states race relations
women united states history
 

Related Subject Guides