go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

American History Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Reference Resources

Dictionaries & Encyclopaedias : general

Encyclopedia Americana. 1986
  Only in print at SREF031/1B/(1-30)
General knowledge encyclopaedia similar to the Encyclopedia Britannica, but with emphasis on America. Useful source of concise information on people, places and events in American history.
Dictionary of American history. 3rd ed. 2003
  Only in print at SREF973.03/41/(1-10)
Oxford Reference Online full text
  Online access to a large range of Oxford reference resources. Includes The Oxford Companion to United States History and The Oxford Companion to American Military History.
Encyclopedia of American History. 2003
  Only in print at  SREF973.03/13 /(1-11)
The Reader's companion to American history. 1991
  Only in print at S973.03/12
A companion to American thought. 1995
  Only in print at SREF001.10973/2.  Essays on the pivotal topics and figures in the history of American intellectual endeavor and achievement.
A short chronology of American history, 1492-1950. 1980
  Only in print at SREF973.0202/1 
The Penguin historical atlas of North America. 1995
  Only in print at SREF911.7/1. Includes chronology.
Politics and international relations resource
A fully-searchable and cross-referenced database from Routledge Reference Resources. It includes over 30 reference books published by Routledge, such as Encyclopedia of Democratic Thought and  The Terrorism Reader.
Core documents of U.S. democracy
 
This Internet site is produced by the United States Printing Office and provides access to many documents and full text services from numerous libraries, museums and archives in the United States. This includes many historical documents and government publications.
American Historical Documents
 
The 47 treaties, speeches, historical accounts and governmental documents in this collection trace the United States from the settling of the continent to the founding of the country to the Civil War and early twentieth-century international relations.

Dictionaries & Encyclopaedias : special focus

Encyclopedia of American social history. 1993
  Only in print at SREF301.0973/12/(1-3)
Encyclopedia of American political history : studies of the principal movements and ideas. 1984
  Only in print at SREF320.97303/2/(1-3)
Encyclopedia of the American Revolution. 1966
  Only in print at SREF973.3/7
The Civil War dictionary. 1959
  Only in print at SREF973.703/1
Encyclopedia of Southern History. 1979
  Only in print at SREF975.003/1
The new encyclopedia of the American West. 1998
  Only in print at  SREF978.003/2
Harvard Encyclopedia of American ethnic groups. 1980
  Only in print at  SREF973.04/1
Encyclopedia of North American Indians. 1996
  Only in print at  SREF970.00497003/1
Conspiracy theories in American history : an encyclopedia. 2003
  Only in print at  SREF973.03/14/(1-2)

Biographical & Women's History Resources

American national biography online
  Also in print at SREF920.073/2/(1-11)
The Cambridge dictionary of American biography. 1995
  Only in print at SREF920.073/45
Concise dictionary of American biography. 2nd ed. 1977
   Only in print at SREF920.073/13B
Notable American women, 1607-1950; a biographical dictionary. 1971
  Only in print at SREF920.073/33/(1-3)
Women in particular : an index to American women. 1984
  Only in print at SREF305.40973/26
Women's experience in America : an historical anthology. 1980
  Only in print at S305.40973/23
United States government documents on women, 1800-1990 : a comprehensive bibliography. 1993
  Only in print at SREF305.4/159/(1-2)
Handbook of American women's history. 1990
  Only in print at SREF305.40973/44

African Americans & Civil Rights

Encyclopedia of Black America. 1984
  Only in print at SREF973.0496/9
Black-white racial attitudes : an annotated bibliography. 1976
  Only in print at SREF305.896073/9
Encyclopedia of African-American civil rights : from emancipation to the present. 1992
  Only in print at SREF305.896073/48
Black slavery in the Americas : an interdisciplinary bibliography, 1865-1980. 1982
  Only in print at SREF306.3620973/1/(1-2)
The encyclopedia of civil rights in America. 1998
 
Only in print at LREF/KM222/E5/1/(1-3) [Located in the Law Library]
Civil rights in the United States. 2000
 
Only in print at LREF/KM222/C17/1/(1-2) [Located in the Law Library]