go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Ancient History Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals |  Reference Resources | Internet Links

Databases

L'Annee philologique: APh
  This database indexes periodical articles as well as articles in collections and conference papers in classics and classical studies. It covers Greek and Latin linguistics and literature, Greek and Roman archaeology, history, mythology, religion, epigraphy, numismatics and palaeography: all aspects of the ancient Mediterranean world.
TOCS-IN
Table of contents of journals of interest to classicists.
Gnomon Online
The Eischstatt Information System for Classicial Studies.
Academic Research Library  full text
  One of the Proquest databases.
Project Muse  full text
  Provides access to over 40 Johns Hopkins University Press academic journals. Coverage includes classics.
Wilson Omnifile full text
  Includes coverage of the Social Sciences Index, The Humanities Index and Reader's Guide.
Expanded Academic full text
  Provides international coverage of academic journals, magazines and newspapers. (1980+)
JSTOR  full text
  Provides retrospective full text access to a range of journals. Click on browse to see the range of journals included, or search across a range of journals.
PCI full text
  Similar to JSTOR in providing full text access to older issues of journals. Click on browse to see the range of journals included, or search across a range of journals.
Philosopher's Index  (1940+)
  Index only. 
Art Index Retrospective
   A bibliographic database that cumulates citations to Art Index volumes 1-32 of the printed index published between 1929-1984
British Humanities Index
  Includes coverage of Europe. Strong on history and philosophy.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
Web of Science
  Indexes the top ranking journals across all subjects. Select the Arts and Humanities Citation Index.

Theses databases and Libraries Australia

Proquest dissertations
  Replaces Digital Dissertations. Covers North American theses from 1861 onwards, with abstracts included from 1980. Includes UNSW doctoral theses (from 1974) and theses from most universities in Great Britain (from 1988). Of the  more than 2 million listed, more than 600,000 of the more recent theses are now available for immediate free download.
Index to theses
  Contains records of theses accepted for higher degrees by the Universities of Great Britain and Ireland.
Australian Digital Theses Program full text
  Australian theses. The ADT database provides access to PhD and Masters by Research theses only. Theses available to download in PDF format.
Libraries Australia
  Formerly called Kinetica, Libraries Australia provides access to several databases. The most important is the National Bibliographic Database, which contains about 9 million bibliographic records for books, serial titles and other items held in over 850 Australian Libraries.