go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Anthropology Subject Guide

 

Databases

Academic Research Library
 
Extensive international coverage of information in the social sciences and humanities.
Annual Reviews
Includes articles from the Annual Review of Anthropology.
Anthropology Plus
Indexes the literature of anthropology, coverage beginning in the late 19th century.
APAFT - Australian Public Affairs Full Text
  Indexes Australian topics, mostly in the humanities and social sciences. (1978+)
ASIANRES
The primary focus here is research, the social sciences and humanities, and smaller, less commercial, databases that are being developed in the Asia/Pacific region.
A S S I A (Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts)
  Scholarly coverage of international social sciences literature. Particularly useful for research methods and methodologies.
BAS: Bibliography of Asian Studies
  Covers a range of subjects (especially in the humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia. From 1971 onwards.
British Humanities Index
BHI indexes humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries,as well as quality newspapers published in the UK.
Expanded Academic ASAP
Provides the full text of articles from a wide range of academic and other journals, including many in the area of social sciences and anthropology.
 Humanities Index  
  Articles from a wide range of academic and other journals, including many in the area of anthropology.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences: IBSS
  Wide coverage an excellent resource for anthropology.
 JSTOR
  JSTOR provides retrospective access to a range of journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. It provides the full text of 23 anthropological journals. Click on browse to see the range of journals included, or search across a range of journals. (1800+)
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
The definitive database on the nature and use of language,covers anthropological subjects.
MAIS: Multicultural Australia and Immigration Studies
  Covers a wide range of media from published and unpublished material on all aspects of Australian immigration and multicultural issues.
Project Muse full text
Provides access to over 40 Johns Hopkins University Press academic journals. Coverage includes anthropology.
 Periodicals Archive Online fulltext
Periodical archive with excellent coverage of anthropological issues. Click on browse to see the range of journals included, or search across a range of journals. Some journals dating back to 1770. Emphasis on British resources. 
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
Sociological Abstracts
 
Comprehensive coverage of scholarly journals in sociology, social policy and related disciplines (including anthropology & cultural studies).

Libraries Australia & Web of Science

Web of Science
  Indexes a wide range of journal articles. Choose the General Search option to search for journal articles on anthropology. Also provides citation indexing, which is searching to find out who has cited a particular book or journal article.
Libraries Australia
Useful database for finding the location of items in other libraries in Australia. Includes holdings for 850 Australian libraries

Theses Databases

Sirius Theses page
  This is a link to the Sirius Thesis page which lists all the main resources for theses including Writing and presenting your thesis or dissertation. This can be independently navigated by clicking Sirius, clicking Find Resources, click Locate  and using the Type dropdown menu, select Theses.
Proquest dissertations and theses  
  Replaces Digital Dissertations. Covers North American theses from 1861 onwards, with abstracts included from 1980. Includes UNSW doctoral theses (from 1974) and theses from most universities in Great Britain (from 1988). Of the  more than 2 million listed, more than 600,000 of the more recent theses are now available for immediate free download.
Index to theses
  Contains records of theses accepted for higher degrees by the Universities of Great Britain and Ireland.
Australian Digital Theses full text
Australian theses. The ADT database provides access to PhD and Masters by Research theses only. Theses available to download in PDF format.