go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Anthropology Subject Guide

 
 

Journals

Abstracts in anthropology  2001+
 
Print version available at SREF 572.05 (1977/78+)
Only comprehensive abstracting journal in the field.
Memoirs of the American anthropological and ethnological societies
 
Only in print at S 572.06/4 (1955 - 1963)
A range of monographs, on specialist topics.
American anthropologist  1888+
 
Print version available at S 572.06/1 (1899- 1994) ;  SQ 572.06/1 (1995+)
Contains research, book and film reviews, and reviews of research.
Annual review of anthropology 1972+
Print version available at S 301.205/8 (1972 -2002)
It is an excellent source for bibliography and surveys of current trends.
Anthropological quarterly  1928+
Contains articles and book reviews on a number of topics, but has tended to concentrate on the peasant peoples of Europe and Latin America.
Anthropology today  1985+
Print version available at SQ 301.05/59 (1985 - 2002)
Articles are by professional anthropologists but generally shorter than those in professional journals. As well, they are more topical.
Canadian review of sociology & anthropology 1992+
Print version available at S301.06/20 (1964+)
One of Canada's best journals in the social sciences, articles from both professions appear on a diversity of topics from urban issues to the status of Canada's aboriginal population.
Chinese sociology & anthropology  1999 - 2000; 2004+
 
Print version available at  S 309.151005/1 (1968+)
This is a journal of translation of articles by Chinese scholars in sociology and anthropology.
Critique of anthropology  1974+
 
Print version available at S 572.05/9 (1985 - 2004)
Beginning originally as a newsletter, this journal takes a critical, often political, approach to social and cultural anthropology, on a variety of topics with an international authorship.
Comparative studies in society & history  1958+
 
Print version available at S 906/13 (1958 - 2003)
This is an excellent, wide-ranging journal, published in Cambridge, with many articles of interest in the fields of anthropology, history and sociology.
Current anthropology 1959+
Print version available at SQ 572.05/1 1962+
Contains high quality summary articles and extensive bibliographies unique in the field; major articles are followed by expert commentaries, with the author having the right of final reply.
Ethnology  1962+
Print version available at S 572.06/5 (2005+)
Has a special interest in the Human Relations Area Files, an ambitious project attempting to systematically compare hundreds of societies according to a universal coding system.
History & anthropology  2002+
Print version available at S 301.05/66  (1990-2004)
Historians and anthropologists both have found this a very valuable resource for their research and both are contributors.
Human organization  1996+
Print version available at SQ 301.05/41 (1952-1999)
This is the Journal of the [American] Society for Applied Anthropology and contains articles dealing mainly with development studies, applied or practical anthropology, field experiences and the ethnography of education. The articles are usually short, well-written and often intended for a non-specialist audience.
International journal of intercultural relations  1977+
A publication in comparative sociology, it features empirical analyses of trans- and inter-cultural experiences of various migrant groups and ethnic minorities all over the world.
Journal of anthropological research 1973+
Print version available at S 301.205/13  (1973+)
This publication began life as the Southwestern Journal of Anthropology and that title is the one that figures on the early issues in the collection. Articles are of very high qual­ity and cover all ethnographic and theoretical areas.
Journal of contemporary ethnography  1972+
The focus here is on ethnographic style research not only by anthropologists, but others who have drawn inspiration from this qualitative methodology. The field sites are generally urban and in advanced industrial societies.
Journal of Pacific history  1994+
Print version available at S 990.5/1 (1966-2004)
Published by the Department of Pacific and Southeast Asian History, Research School of Pacific Studies, at The Australian National University, Journal of Pacific History deals with the history of the (mainly South) Pacific, including both pre–contact and more contemporary events. The book reviews and annual bibliography are useful especially to anyone wishing to specialise in this area.
Journal of the Polynesian Society  2003+
Print version available at S 996.05/1  (1896 -1966) - incomplete
This New Zealand published journal is an absolute necessity for anyone seeking to study a Polynesian topic. The articles vary in quality, from those of the interested amateur, particularly in the early days, to contributions from the best in the field. The articles tend to be long and highly detailed. There is a small book review section. Coverage includes both pre-contact and historical topics.
The Journal of the Royal Anthropological Institute  1995+
This title continues Man, with the same focus and content.
Man (the journal of the Royal Anthropological Institute)  1901 - 1994
 
Print version available at S 572.05/9 (1985 - 2004)
Issued quarterly, this is the Journal of the Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Northern Ireland. The definition of anthropology here includes physical anthropology and archaeology, as well as some linguistics. However, the bulk of the articles have been always in the sub-field of social anthropology. There is a compre­hensive book review section.
Medical anthropology  2002+
 
Print version available at MB 362.105/56  ( 1977-2001)
For any topic relating to cross cultural research on disease and well-ness, this is the source. Authors are anthropologists with medical interest or, from time to time, medical researchers with qualitative anthropological interests.
Oceania 1930+
Print version available at CFA 572.05/1 (1977-1986)
A quarterly journal published by Oceania Publications at The University of Sydney. The articles deal mostly with Aboriginal and Melanesian topics, with a small book review section.
Signs  1975+
Published in the US. Excellent English articles from all over the world reflecting the latest trends in feminist thoughts with a nice blend of empirical US theoretical articles.
The Australian journal of anthropology  1931+
TAJA has become the official journal of the Australian Anthropological Society. The ethnographic focus tends to be on the western Pacific and Southeast Asia, with a good book review section, specialising in Australian work.
Theory, culture and society  1983+
Print version available at S300.5/79  (1982-2003)
Published in the UK, this journal reflects the latest theoretical developments in sociological thought. Excellent articles in critical sociology, at times complex, but always very good value.