go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science

Quicklinks

Borrower Record via LRD
Subject Guides

Australian Government Information

This is a selective list of some of the major sites, official government publications and directories relevant to Australian Commonwealth, State and Territory Governments, government agencies and political parties. Click on the links to directly access the web site.

Gateway Sites and Directories

  National Library of Australia's gateway to the Federal government and all State and Territory governments sites. Also provides links to most political parties.
This Commonwealth Government Entry Point, offers comprehensive and integrated access to Federal Government information.
  This is the major entry point for all NSW government information.
  This guide to government includes profiles and contact information of federal and state politicians, official titles and names of all senior diplomats, and correct forms of address for correspondence to every Member of Parliament, senior public servant, and vice-regal representative in Australia.

Parliamentary Sites


Government Publications


Parliamentary debates (Hansard)

 
This service provides access to the Senate Hansard, the House of Representatives Hansard and Senate, House of Representatives and Joint Committee transcripts.
Also available in print at:
Senate
S328.94005/3, 1953-1980, (Level 4) and L/KH5/A1, 1953-1996, (Freehills Law Library)
 
House of Representatives
S328.94005/2, 1953-1980, (Level 4) and L/KH11/A1, 1953-1996, (Freehills Law Library) 
 
Senate and House of Representatives, 1901-1953
S 328.94005/2, (Level 4) and L/KH11/A1 (Freehills Law Library)
  Also available in print at SQ328.94406/3, 1879/80-1997.

Parliamentary Papers

These are reports tabled in parliament. Those "ordered to be printed" are published and can include annual reports of government departments, committee reports, "white" and "green" papers.
Commonwealth Parliamentary Papers.
 
Available in print at SREF 328.9406/3
 
New South Wales Parliamentary Publications
 
 Available in print  at SQ 328.94406/4

Australian Bureau of Statistics

  • Access the ABS site via the AusStats database to gain UNSW subscriber access to publications.
    AusStats provides access to all Australian Bureau of Statistics publications from 1998 onwards.

Archives


Budget


Elections

  • Elections
    A database of parties, elections, governments and representation for state and federal parliaments since 1890.
  • Australian Electoral Commission
    The home site of the AEC with electoral data back to 1901, and including information about electoral procedures, referenda, electoral history and nonparliamentary elections.

Legislation

  • Australian Law Online is provided by the Australian Government to give all Australians access to Government legal information and services available nationwide.
  • FindLaw Australia
    Wide ranging interface to Australian legal sources, and has links to a range of free services including databases which contain legislation, cases, parliamentary debates.
  • AustLII
    Australasian Legal Information Institute.The key site for locating Australian legal information.
  • SCALEPlus 
    Australian Attorney Generals Department's Legal Database, especially Commonwealth and State Legislation and Cases.

Historical Documents


Opinion Polls


Political Parties


Treaties