go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Australian History Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | JournalsReference ResourcesInternet Links

Most useful databases for Australian History topics

 
 
A full text multidisciplinary database which indexes an extensive range of Australian scholarly and general journals, conference proceedings, magazines, and some major articles from newspapers 1978+
Print version available at SREF994.005/7 (1945-2000)
AUSCHRON 
 
A chronology of Australian historic and current events. References to sources (eg. journal articles, Australian Dictionary of Biography) provided.
 
A listing of paper-based records held in private collections in Australia, dating from settlement to 1988. Documents include letters, diaries, photographs, financial records, posters, sketches, recipe books, catalogues, minute books, registers and other material. AHRR provides an insight into life in Australia from settlement  to 1988.
 Australasian Military History Database:MIHILIST
 
Covers pre-1980 Australian, New Zealand, and Papua-New Guinean military history. 
Australian Periodical Publications
 
Provides web access to digital copies of Australian serials first published between 1840 and 1845.
Historical Abstracts
 
A major international database, which covers world history from 1450 to present and indexes journals, monographs, dissertations. Abstracts are in English but articles may be in any of 55 different languages. 1982+
Print version available at SREF905/35 & 36 1955+
Index to journal articles on Australian History (Hogan)
 
"Hogan" is a set of indexes listing articles on Australian history. Each of the four volumes deals with journal articles published within a particular span of years. Hogan was last updated in 1994, covering articles published between 1984 - 1988. For articles published since then, refer to APAIS. SREF994/53D/(1)
 Index to Periodicals
 
Only in print at SREF994.005/8/8A 1944/49-1955 continued by Australian Periodical Index (1956-1964)
Poole's index to periodical literature
 
Indexes newspapers and journals from the 19th century.
Only in print at SREF050/8/(1-6)
Times Digital Archives 
 
The complete digital edition of The Times (London). Use keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.

Other databases across different subject disciplines

 
Replaces Australian Education Index. A+ indexes journal contents, from 1978 onward and offers full text from  2000 onward.
 
Compiled by the Australian Institute of Family Studies. Indexes Australian writing and research on the legal, sociological, psychological, economic and demographic situation of Australian children and adults. 1988+
 
Indexes published and unpublished material on all aspects of Australian and multicultural issues. Produced by the Department of Immigration and Multicultural Affairs Library. 1940+
 
Provides retrospective access to journal articles, from the 19th century onwards. Articles are scanned into the database.
 
Sometimes called PCI. Similar to JSTOR. Coverage from 18th century onwards.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
 
Full text database coverage of a broad range of topics, including History.

Special focus databases

Current Contents
  A current awareness service indexing journals in advance of publication. 1993+
Proquest dissertations and theses
  Previously called  Digital Dissertations.  Covers North American theses from 1861 onwards, with abstracts included from 1980. Includes UNSW doctoral theses (from 1974) and theses from most universities in Great Britain (from 1988). Of the  more than 2 million listed, more than 600,000 of the more recent theses are now available for immediate free download. 
Index to theses
  Contains records of theses accepted for higher degrees by the Universities of Great Britain and Ireland.
Australian Digital Theses Program full text
  Australian theses. The ADT database provides access to PhD and Masters by Research theses only. Theses available to download in PDF format.
Libraries Australia 
  Formerly called Kinetica, Libraries Australia provides access to several databases. The most important is the National Bibliographic Database, which contains about 9 million bibliographic records for books, serial titles and other items held in over 850 Australian Libraries.
Web of Science
  Provides citation indexing, which is searching to find out who has cited a particular book or journal article.