go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Australian History Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Reference Resources

Encyclopaedias and dictionaries

The Australian Encyclopaedia. 1996
  SREF919.4/204R(1-8)
The Australian People: an encyclopedia of the nation, its people and their origins. 2001
 
SREF994/308H
Historical Dictionary of Australia. 1992
 
SREF994.003/8A
Australian Dictionary of Biography. 1966-<2005>.  
 
SREF920.094/6A / (1) -
Dictionary of Australian History.  1982
 
SREF994.003/1
The Collins Australian dictionary of political terms. 1994
 
SREF320.99403/2
The Blackwell encyclopaedia of political institutions. 1987
 
SREF320.0321/1
The Blackwell encyclopaedia of political thought. 1987
   Vol.1, No.1 (1963/64) - Q709.9405/2
Lexicon of historical & political terms. c1992
 
SREF320.03/19
Encyclopedia of government and politics. 1992
   SREF919.4/204N/(1-9)
Worldmark encyclopedia of the nations. 1987
 
SREF903/45/(1-5)
The Oxford companion to Australian history [electronic resource]
Covers people, institutions, and events that have shaped Australian society, politics and culture. Readers will also find incisive entries on matters such as, art, capital punishment, gambling, language, literature, military history, republicanism, and reconciliation.
Oxford Reference Online full text
  Online access to a large range of Oxford reference resources. Includes The Oxford Companion to Australian History.
Politics and International Relations Resource
 
A fully-searchable and cross-referenced database from Routledge Reference Resources. It includes over 30 reference books published by Routledge, such as Encyclopedia of International Relations and Global Politics; Dictionary of the Modern Politics of South-East Asia.
Dictionary of modern political ideologies. c1987
 
SREF320.503/1
The Macmillan dictionary of political quotations.  c1993
 
SREF320.03/30
A new dictionary of political analysis.1991
SREF320.03/26
A dictionary of modern politics. 1993
 
SREF320.03/20A
The Routledge dictionary of twentieth-century political thinkers. 1992
 
SREF320.0922/1

Catalogues, guides and atlases

Australians: a guide to sources. 1987
 
SREF994/344
Australians: a historical atlas. 1987
 
SREF994/345
Australians: historical statistics. 1987
 
SREF994/348
Australians to 1788. 1987
 
SREF994/339