go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Australian Politics Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Databases

Australian Public Affairs Information Service (APAIS) full text
  Main index to journals and periodicals published in Australia. (1978+)
APAIS Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander subset
  Material in APAIS pertaining only to Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander communities.
AGIS (Attorney-General's Information Service) 
  AGIS is an Australian database that indexes and abstracts articles from published material on all aspects of law, including issues such as human rights and land rights.
International Political Science Abstracts (IPSA)
  Indexes a wide range of political science journals. This is the major resource for journal articles in the study of international relations and political science (1989+)
Factiva full text
Full text coverage of a wide range in international newspapers, including the SMH, Australian Financial Review and The Australian.
Scopus
 
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.

Related Databases

AustLII
  AustLII publishes public legal information, legislation, treaties and decisions of courts and tribunals and secondary legal materials created by public bodies for purposes of public access e.g. law reform and royal commission reports.
Capital Monitor
  Based in the Federal Parliamentary Press Gallery, provides tailored news and information services from a range of resources involved with all stages of the process of government in Australia, the States and the Courts. Includes AAP wire news services.
AUSSTATS
  Database of all Australian Bureau of Statistics publications from 1998. Also includes extensive time series data spreadsheets; the 1996 Census of Basic Community Profiles and many general articles on Australia taken from various Commonwealth and State Yearbooks.
  Index to Australian writing and research on aspects of children and adults in the Australian community including legal, sociological, psychological, economic and demographic. (1984+)
  Indexes published and unpublished material on all aspects of Australian and multicultural issues. (1991+)
Expanded Academic full text
  This database provides access to academic journals, magazines and newspapers in all disciplines of the social sciences, arts, humanities, science and technology - with full text and images for many articles. (1980+)
PAIS : Public Affairs Information Service
  International coverage of public affairs issues particularly public administration and policy. (1972+)
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
  IBSS indexes about 2,400 journal titles and up to 7,000 books annually, including reviews and book chapters. (1951+)
Sociological Abstracts
  Provides international coverage of sociological issues. Many articles now available in full text. Also offers link to Library catalogue, to check availability of items in the Library. (1974+)

Special Focus Databases

Current Contents
  A current awareness service indexing journals in advance of publication. (1993+)
Proquest dissertations and theses
  Replaces Digital Dissertations. Covers North American theses from 1861 onwards with abstracts from 1980. Includes UNSW doctoral theses from 1974 and theses from most universities in Great Britain from 1988. Of the more than 2 million listed, more than 600,000 of the more recent theses are now available for immediate free download.
Index to theses
  Contains records of theses accepted for higher degrees by the Universities of Great Britain and Ireland.
Australian Digital Theses Program full text
  Australian theses. The ADT database provides access to PhD and Masters by Research theses only. Theses available to download in PDF format.
Libraries Australia 
  Formerly called Kinetica, Libraries Australia provides access to several databases. The most important is the National Bibliographic Database, which contains about 9 million bibliographic records for books, serial titles and other items held in over 850 Australian Libraries.
Web of Science
  Provides citation indexing, which is searching to find out who has cited a particular book or journal article.