go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Banking & Finance Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Databases

For a brief online tutorial click this link, How to ... Using the Databases
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ABI/Inform Global  full text
Provides indexing and abstracting of 1,500 journal titles in business, economics and related disciplines. The full text is provided to about 750 of these journals.
 ECONLIT (Economic Literature) via CSA 1969+
  Subject specific & scholarly content. Index with SFX links to electronic articles and LRD catalogue search. Tip! A search using the thesaurus e.g. de=((banking)) retrieves 18,590 records, or de=((finance)) retrieves 29,140 records.
 ISI Web of Science 1900+
  Scholarly & multidisciplinary. Indexes the top ranking journals across all subjects. Consists of 3 component databases: deselect Sciences Citation Index. Note the 'Times cited' function after a general search.
 Multidisciplinary databases with scholarly and general content.
 These types of databases (except Factiva) offer a 'limit to peer reviewed or scholarly journals' option on the search page.
 Business Source Premier full text
  Indexes 4,000 journals including 3,600 fulltext scholarly publications and 1,000 peer reviewed journals. Includes Harvard Business Review: country economic reports & detailed company reports.
 Expanded Academic ASAP full text
  TIP! Subject Search "banking industry" finds 55,600 articles. Narrow by subdivision, gives easy access to topics via subheadings or, the See also related subjects give subject heading such as Financial Services Industry (1,900 articles) & International Banking (1,600 articles) etc
 Wilson Omnifile FT Mega full text
  Includes Business Periodicals Index. Indexes 2,730 journals back to 1982. Full text of 1,300 journals available from 1994 onwards.
 Factiva full text
 
Huge international content and a major resource for Australian newspapers, including the SMH, Australian Financial Review and The Australian. For best results, view in Explorer -to access Australian materials, choose the dropdown menu from My Source List, any selection starting with Group is a fixed set of publications i.e. Group : Australia Publications only searches all Australian publications in Factiva.
 NewsBank full text
  International newspapers including many Australian publications.
 Multidisciplinary databases with scholarly content
 These databases (except Emerald) allow you to select a subject area or category and search only that part of the databases.
 ScienceDirect full text index 1823+, selected journal titles full text from 1900+ and comprehensively  full text from 1956+
  Click Search, then hold down the shift key and highlighting categories Business, Management and Accounting and Economics Econometrics & Finance, and then search.
 JSTOR full text 1800+ and  a moving wall 3-4 years from the present
  JSTOR now opens to Advanced Search. Scroll down and select 3 categories Business, Economics, and Finance, then fill in the search box. To limit your search to journal articles only and avoid the many book reviews, see under Narrow your search to, tick the Articles box e.g.
These Types:            
 Periodicals Archive Online  full text 1770+
  Like JSTOR, researchers can select their categories first. Like JSTOR, researchers can select categories before searcing. Beside the Journal Subject box, see the Search by List link. Click this link and select your categoreis. PAO also has some foreign language publications and only a 2 user license.
 Project Muse full text 1993+
 
Johns Hopkins University journals. Plenty of contemporary materials.
 Emerald full text
  Small management database offering the contents of 100 journals.
 Annual Reviews full text
  AR is an ejournal. AR publishes articles that identify significant topics of academic interest and describes the major issues and contributors as well as having significant bibliographies. The results of a search 'banking and finance' will give you ' Financial markets, money, and banking' by Lisa A. Keister and ' Wheels within wheels: Rethinking the Asian Crisis and the Asian Model' by Robert Wade etc.
 Working papers
 NBER Working Papers full text
  National Bureau of Economic Research working papers.
 Statistics databases
  N.B. Find the Statistics subject guide, (dedicated exclusively to statistical resources held in the UNSW library and with links to statistical sites on the Internet) from the homepage, under Subject Guides, Arts and Social Sciences, Statistics
 International Financial Statistics
  Comprehensive world financial statistics and by country. Exportable in Excel.
 SourceOECD
  Statistics for OECD countries.
 EIU Viewswire
  Statistics and reports on economic conditions in 195 countries

Other databases for Banking & Finance

 Sociological Abstracts  (CSA) 1974+  
  Scholarly. Index searching sociological journals with SFX links to full text. Use the Thesaurus to search for terms Political Economy de=((political economy)), 1,400 records, and Economic History de= ((economic history)), 300 records.
 Sociology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection full text  (CSA) 1982+
  Scholarly content and a subset of the above Sociological Abstracts.
 PsycINFO 1887+
  Main resource for psychological resources. Plenty on consumers and the emotional side of finance.
 British Humanities Index (CSA) 1962+
  Multidisciplinary with a UK and European bias.
 International Bibliography of the Social Sciences : IBSS from 1951+ via Ovid
  Multidisciplinary. IBSS indexes about 2,400 journal titles and up to 7,000 books annually, including reviews and book chapters.
 Communication Abstracts  (CSA) 1977+
  Via CSA
 Communication Studies: A SAGE Full-Text Collection full text (CSA) 1982+
  Small full text sub-set (approx 17 journals) of above Communication Abstracts.
  Communications and Mass Media full text (EBSCO)
  Scholarly & general content. Note, limit search to Scholarly Journal facility.
 PAIS 1972+
 
Index with a bias toward American resources.
 Left Index 1982+
  Indexs the contents of politically left leaning journals.
 Bibliography of Asian Studies 1971+
  Asia centred contents.
 Asia Studies full text 
 
APEC (Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation), includes statistics, Asia wide statistics, country reviews, development reports and Australian APEC Study Centre publications 1995-2004 and much more.
 Electronic books and reference books
 Oxford Scholarship Online full text (electronic books)
  Full text and searchable books, in the fields of Economics and Finance, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion etc.
 Oxford Reference Online full text
  Several reference ebooks for definitions including, Dictionary of Economics and Dictionary of Finance and Banking.

Databases with Australian content

 APAIS full text from 1995+ and index from 1978+
 
Indexing service with mainly Australian content. APAIS can also be linked and searched in combination with other Australian databases. After entering APAIS, click the Database button on the top left hand of the search screen. Tick any database you think is relevant including APAIS and then click Start Searching. Below is a list of some of these Australian databases relevant to Banking & Finance.
  IREL Industrial Relations
  Giblin Working Papers Database from last 5 years
 Factiva full text
  Huge international content and a major resource for Australian newspapers, including the SMH, Australian Financial Review and The Australian. For best results, view in Explorer -to access Australian materials, choose the dropdown menu from My Source Lists, any selection starting with Group is a fixed set of publications i.e. Group : Australian Publications only searches the Australian publications in Factiva.
 Asia Studies full text
  APEC (Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation), includes statistics, Asia wide statistics, country reviews, development reports and Australian APEC Study Centre publications 1995-2004 and much more.
 Libraries Australia Kinetica
  The national bibliographic database to search all the major library holding in Australia. Postgraduates can request any found item not held at UNSW via Inter Library Loans.

Thesis databases, Scopus and Libraries Australia

 Sirius Theses Page
  This is a link to the Sirius Thesis page which lists all the main resources for theses including Writing and presenting your thesis or dissertation. This can be generated independently by entering Sirius and clicking Find Resources, click Locate, using the Type dropdown menu select Theses.
 Proquest Dissertations and Theses full text
  With more than 2 million entries, PQD&T is the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and masters theses. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Masters theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.
 Index to Theses
  Contains records of theses accepted for higher degrees by the universities of Great Britain and Ireland.
 Australian Digital Theses full text
  Provides full text access to recent Australian PhD and Masters by research theses. Theses available to download in PDF format.
 Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
 Libraries Australia (KINETICA) The National Bibliographic Database
  Kinetica enables you to search the holdings of 850 libraries in Australia, including all the major university libraries. Postgraduates and Academic/General Staff can request the loan of items or material not held in UNSW Library via the Interlibray Loans request form.
  Current Contents
   A current awareness service indexing journals in advance of publication.