go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Chinese Studies Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Databases

 For a brief online tutorial click this link How to...Using Databases 
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
 Bibliography of Asian Studies
  Indexes Asian studies scholarly journals covering a range of subject areas, especially in the humanities and social sciences.
 ISI Web of Science 1900+
 
ISI indexes the top ranking journals in every field. When entering, de-select Science Citation Index.
 Multidisciplinary databases : general and scholarly content
 Expanded Academic full text  1980+
  Tip: very effective subject search, includes limit to refereed publications
 Wilson Omnifile Full Mega Text full text index from 1982, full text from 1994+
 Factiva full text
  Huge international content and a major resource for Australian newspapers.
 Business Source Premier full text  prior to 1986+
 Multidisciplinary databases: Scholarly content
 JSTOR full text from the early 18th century +
 
JSTOR is not an easy database to use effectively. Entry is to Advanced search.  Scroll down and tick relevant subject areas e.g. Language and Literature, Asian Studies etc. Then enter your search terms. N.B. Earlier articles do not have abstracts so full text searching might be necessary. To avoid book reviews, see under Narrow your search to, tick Articles (as below). Note re-ordering results e.g. Oldest To Most Recent.
These Types:            
 
 Project Muse full text 1993+ (Johns Hopkins University Press journals)
 Periodicals Archives Online full text 1770+
 
Like JSTOR. Backfiles of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences in 37 key subject areas and includes articles in 40 languages.
 Science Direct full text index 1823+, selected journal titles full text from 1900+, and comprehensively full text 1995+
 
After entering, click Search and then highlight your categories such as Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences etc and search.
  Huge content for the social sciences.
 British Humanities Index 1962+
  Index with SFX links.
 Additional databases that maybe useful
 Oxford Scholarship Online  - over 700 electronic books; economics, philosophy, religion. 
 
 HKUL Digital Initiatives (Internet database, not a UNSW resource.) Nest of databases giving full text journal and newspaper articles and images about Hong Kong.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
  AR publishes review articles that describe topics through the major issues and main authors. An  Advanced search, limited to Social Science, in title field for the word 'China' retrieves  
'Economic Reforms in China' by Dali L. Yang, and 'Social Change in Post-Revolution China' by A G Walder.

Australian centred databases

 APAIS (Australian Public Affairs Information Service) full text index from 1978+ and some full text from 1995+
  Major database for material  published in Australia. Link MAIS (Multicultural Australia) and the A+ Education (formerly Australian Education Index) with APAIS and search together by clicking the Resources button and ticking the box next to both databases. Then click Start Searching.
 Factiva full text
  Huge international content and a major resource for Australian newspapers.
  APEC (Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation), includes statistics, Asia wide statistics, country reviews, development reports and Australian APEC Study Centre publications 1995-2004 and much more.

Important subject specific databases

 Society and culture and media
 Sociological Abstracts  1974+ (large amount on China including minorities and regional issues)
 Communication Abstracts  (CSA)
 Communication Studies: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 1982+  (Subset of above CSA database)
 Communications and Mass Media  (EBSCO)
 Women's Resources International 1972+
 Left Index 1982+ (use to search the contents of politically left leaning publications)
 Anthropology Plus Late 19th century +
 (Anthropological literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index)
 Literature and language
 MLA International Bibliography (Modern languages and literature)
 Literature Online full text
 History and politics
 Politics and International Relations full text   SAGE Full Text, 1982+
 Historical Abstracts 1982+
 America : history and life 1982+
 ACLS History E-Book Project full text
 History Compass full text 
 Education and philosophy
 ERIC (Educational Resources) 1966+
 Philosopher's Index 1940+
 

Theses databases

 Sirius Theses Page 
  This is a link to the Sirius Thesis page which lists all the main resources or theses including Writing and presenting your thesis or dissertation. This can be generated independently by entering Sirius and clicking Find Resources, click Locate, using the Type dropdown menu select Theses.
 Proquest dissertations and theses  
 
Replaces Digital Dissertations. Covers North American theses from 1861 onwards, with abstracts included from 1980. Includes UNSW doctoral theses (from 1974) and theses from most universities in Great Britain (from 1988). Of the  more than 2 million listed, more than 600,000 of the more recent theses are now available for immediate free download. 
 Index to theses
  Contains records of theses accepted for higher degrees by the universities of Great Britain and Ireland.
 Australian Digital Theses Program full text
  Australian theses. The ADT database provides access to PhD and Masters by Research theses only. Theses available to download in PDF format.

Libraries Australia

 Libraries Australia (KINETICA) The National Bibliographic Database
 
Libraries Australia enables you to search the holdings of 850 libraries in Australia, including all the major university libraries. Postgraduates and Academic/General Staff can request the loan of items or material not held in UNSW Library via the Interlibrary Loans request form.