go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Dance Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Dance Databases

For a brief online tutorial click this link How to...Using Databases 
International bibliography of theatre and dance full text
  Contains full text of 100 journals related to theatre and dance and full text of 50 books on related topics.
Expanded Academic full text
  Provides international coverage, good coverage of the performing arts. Includes dance and company reviews. (1980+)
Academic Research Library full text
  One of the Proquest databases. Extensive coverage of the Humanities. Good source for performance reviews.
Australian Public Affairs Information Service (APAIS) full text
  Major index to journals and periodicals published in Australia. (1978+)
 
Australian database. Covers dance and dance therapy within an educational framework.  (1978+)
ERIC
 
Major international database covering all aspects of education. Covers dance, dance therapy, choreography within an educational framework. (1966 +)

Multidisciplinary Databases (many with full text)

Factiva full text
 
Full text coverage of a wide range of  international newspapers, including the SMH, Australian Financial Review and The Australian. Good source for reviews.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences full text 
  International coverage of the social sciences. It includes dance, dance culture and anthropological aspects of dance. (1951+)
Project Muse full text
  Provides access to over 40 Johns Hopkins University Press academic journals. Coverage includes performing arts.
JSTOR full text  1800+
  Provides retrospective full text access to a range of journals to the nineteenth century. Click on browse to see the range of journals included, or search across a range of journals.
PCI full text
  Similar to JSTOR in providing full text access to older issues of journals. Click on browse to see the range of journals included, or search across a range of journals. Emphasis on British publications.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
Wilson Omnifile full text
  Includes coverage of the Social Sciences Index, The Humanities Index, Reader's Guide and Education Index.

Subject specific databases

Arts Hub
  Arts Hub is the online home for Australian arts workers.
The database includes:
Jobs Bulletin, online employment resource listing positions vacant and positions wanted, including job opportunities from the UK and USA.
News, including Australia's arts industry news service, providing news and current affairs issues from both Australia and overseas.
British Humanities Index
  Good coverage of the humanities in Britain, Europe and Commonwealth countries.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
 
Corresponds to the printed index Repertoire Internationale de la Litterature Musique (RILM). International coverage . Wide coverage of dance. (1969+ )
SPORTdiscus
  Covers the athletic aspects of dance. Indexes sport and fitness literature. (1975+)

Libraries Australia & Web of Science

Libraries Australia 
Formerly called Kinetica. Useful database for finding the location of items in other libraries in Australia. Includes holdings for 850 Australian libraries. 
Web of Science
Provides citation indexing, which is searching to find out who has cited a particular book or journal article. 

Theses databases

 Sirius Theses page
  This is a link to the Sirius Thesis page which lists all the main resources for theses including Writing and presenting your thesis or dissertation. This can be independently navigated by clicking Sirius, clicking Find Resources, click Locate  and using the Type dropdown menu, select Theses
 
Replaces Digital Dissertations. Covers North American theses from 1861 onwards, with abstracts included from 1980. Includes UNSW doctoral theses (from 1974) and theses from most universities in Great Britain (from 1988). Of the  more than 2 million listed, more than 600,000 of the more recent theses are now available for immediate free download. 
Index to theses
  Contains records of theses accepted for higher degrees by the Universities of Great Britain and Ireland.
Australian Digital Theses Program full text
  Australian theses. The ADT database provides access to PhD and Masters by Research theses only. Theses available to download in PDF format.