go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Dance Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links

This subject guide has been prepared by Social Sciences & Humanities Library staff. Contact Social Sciences & Humanities Library for further information or assistance.

Reference Resources

Encyclopedias

Oxford Reference Online full text
  Online access to a large range of Oxford reference resources. Includes access to The Oxford Dictionary of Dance and  The Oxford Companion to the Body.
Currency companion to music & dance in Australia. 2003
  Only in print at SREF 780.994/37
International encyclopedia of dance. 1998
  Only in print at SREF792.803/6/(1-6)
The encyclopedia of dance & ballet. 1977
  Only in print at SREF792.8/13

Dictionaries, Handbooks & Bibliographies

The Oxford dictionary of dance. 2002
  Available in print at SREF792.803/8. Available online at Oxford Reference Online full text
Dance words. 1998
 
Only in print at SREF792.8/18
This work is of special interest to dancers, dance teachers and choreographers. Focusing on dance composition, its techniques and training, it also covers the relationship of choreography to other components of dance performance such as music, lighting and the training of dancers.
International dictionary of ballet. 1993.
  Only in print at SREF792.803/3/(1-2)
A dictionary of theatre anthropology : the secret art of the performer. 1991
  Only in print at SQ792/138. This book is the result of research conducted from 1980-1990 by the International School of Theatre Anthropology. Includes bibliographical references.
The dance handbook. 1988.
  Only in print at G792.8/51. Located in Reserve on Level 2. Covers the history of dance and ballet. Includes an index and bibliographical references.
History of the dance in art and education. 1991.
  Only in print at S793.309/7G
Dance on camera : a guide to dance films and videos. 1997
  Only in print at  SREF792.80216/1A. Includes dance film and video catalogues and dance in motion pictures and television.