| |

|
 |
Development Studies Subject Guide
Databases
| Geobase |
| |
Interdisciplinary database particularly strong on environmental issues. Includes the full indexing of International Development Abstracts.
|
| ABI/INFORM Global full text |
| |
International full text coverage of business and many broadly related areas, from 1990 onwards. Includes academic journals, professional publications and trade magazines, which have wide coverage of development issues.
|
| International Political Science Abstracts (IPSA) |
| |
Indexes journals in many languages, 95% of abstracts are in English. Tries to cover countries 'for which information is scarce'. Indexing from 1989 onwards. International coverage of a wide range of publications in the fields of political sciences, politics, public administration, international relations. Strong on development topics.
Also in print at SREF320.05/35 from 1951 onwards.
|
| PAIS International |
| |
International coverage of public affairs issues, particularly administration and policy, 1972 onwards. Good coverage of development from a range of perspectives.
In print at SREF300.5/85 as PAIS international in print, 1991 onwards,
SREF300.5/29 as PAIS bulletin, 1986 to 1990, and as Public affairs information service, 1915 to 1985.
|
| Alternative Press Index |
| |
Covers 250 alternative, radical and left wing publications, including many popular and academic publications not found indexed elsewhere, from 1991 onwards. Has good coverage of development topics from alternative perspectives. Also in print at SREF050/80, 1969 to 1999.
|
| Left Index |
| |
Since 1982, the Left Index has provided access to the diversity of literature on the left, with a primary emphasis on politically and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside the academy and a secondary emphasis on significant but little known sources of news and ideas. Excellent coverage of development topics from non-mainstream journals. Also in print at SREF320.53105/10 no. 1, 1982 - 1999.
|
| Political Science : a Sage full text collection |
| |
Good coverage of mainly scholarly journals. Strong on development topics.
|
| Econlit |
| |
Covers a wide range of economics-related literature, including both economic theory and application. Relevant to economic aspects of development and international development. 1969 onwards.
|
| Academic Research Library |
| |
Extensive international coverage of information in the social sciences and humanities, also with content in science and technology.
|
| Social Work Abstracts Plus |
| |
International coverage of social work literature, 1977 onwards. Covers development issues with a strongly social work perspective.
Print version also available at SREF361.005/17 from 1968 onwards.
|
| Women's studies international |
| |
Covers international literature on women's studies, feminism, family, with strong representation of developing countries and development topics, 1972 onwards. |
| HAPI online |
| |
Hispanic American Periodicals Index is the premier source for US-Hispanic and Latin American topics. Good coverage of development topics from a Hispanic/Latin American perspective. Indexes articles in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese and Spanish in more than 400 scholarly journals worldwide.
Print version 1975 to 1997, held in Remote storage. Ask at Information Desk for access to this.
|
| Communication and Mass Media Complete |
| |
A research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth in the communication and mass media fields. Some coverage of development topics with relevance to communication.
|
| Scopus |
|
|
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
|
| Sociological Abstracts |
| |
Excellent coverage of development topics from a sociological point of view, 1974 onwards. Also in print at SREF301.05/37 1953 to 1999. |
| Historical Abstracts |
| |
Covers world history, excluding U.S. and Canada, from 1450 to present. Indexes journals, monographs, dissertations. Good coverage of development topics from historical perspective. Indexing from 1982 onwards. Also in print at SREF905/35 1955 - 1970, and as Part A, Modern History abstracts, 1450-1914, 1971-1999, and at SREF905/36 as Part B, Twentieth century abstracts,1914 1971-1999.
|
Australian databases with relevance to Development Studies
| APAIS (Australian Public Affairs Information Service) full text |
| |
Essential source for any Australian topic. Multidisciplinary coverage including Australian journals, newspapers, with emphasis on social sciences and humanities. Includes indexing from 1978, with some full text coverage from 1995. |
| MAIS : Multicultural Australia and Immigration Studies |
| |
Index to Australian and multicultural issues, from 1991 onwards.
Continues print version at SREF305.800994/27/(1-2) MAIS index: entries from the Multicultural Australia Information System. Canberra, 1990.
|
| AGIS Plus Text: Attorney-General's Information Service |
| |
Indexes and abstracts articles on all aspects of law from Australian and New Zealand law journals, and selected journals from the U.S., U.K. and Canada. Limited coverage of development topics from a legal point of view.
Full text from 1999 onwards for most journals, indexing from 1975 onwards. Also in print at LREF/K29/A22, 1975 onwards.
|
Newspaper databases
| Factiva full text |
| |
Huge database for articles and newspapers worldwide. Strong resource for 160 Australian publications including Sydney Morning Herald, Australian, Financial Review and The Age. For best results, view in Internet Explorer. To access all Australian materials only, click on Source, choose from the dropdown menu My Source Lists, and click on Group : Australian Publications. |
| New York Times 1851 - 2001 |
| |
Searchable database for the full text of articles published in the New York Times newspaper. |
Other important databases for Development Studies
| Expanded Academic full text |
| |
Good source of material on development topics from popular magazines, newspapers and journals as well as academic journals, Covers all disciplines of the social sciences, arts, humanities, science and technology. From 1980 onwards with full text and images for many articles.
|
| PCI full text 1770 - 1995. |
| |
Major online periodical archive that makes the backfiles of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, in 37 key subject areas, available electronically. |
| OmniFile Full Text Mega |
| |
Multidisciplinary database with good coverage of development topics from a range of popular and scholarly journals.
From 1994, index from 1982 onwards.
|
| ASSIA : Applied Social Science Abstracts |
| |
U.K. index covering international social sciences literature. Yields a range of articles on development topics, 1987 onwards. Also in print at SREF300.5/80, 1987 to 1999 .
|
| Web of Science |
| |
Extensive multidisciplinary scholarly database. Its important additional function is as a citation database, to trace citations, reviews etc. of a particular work, or author's work, and to find related articles. Includes the 3 citation databases Social Sciences Citation Index, 1956 onwards, Arts & Humanities citation index, 1975 onwards, and Science citation index 1945 onwards, which may be searched individually or collectively.
|
| Current Contents |
| |
Extensive multidisciplinary coverage providing details of articles taken from contents pages of current journals often in advance of publication, 1993 onwards.
|
| Proquest Dissertations and Theses |
| |
PQD&T is the definitive guide to more than 2 million doctoral dissertations and masters theses, from North America and around the globe. Recent theses are available in full text, abstracts are available from 1980, while bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1861.
|
| Libraries Australia (Kinetica) |
| |
Useful database to find the location of items in other libraries in Australia. Kinetica provides access to the National Bibliographic Database, which includes the holdings of over 850 Australian libraries.
|
|
|