go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Development Studies Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Reference Resources

Encyclopaedias and dictionaries

Encyclopedia of international development. 2005
  Editor: Tim Forsyth. London, New York, Routledge. Provides definitions and discussions of the key concepts, controversies and actors associated with international development for development workers, teachers and students. SREF338.9003/1
Politics and international relations resource
A fully-searchable and cross-referenced database from Routledge Reference Resources. It includes over 30 reference books published by Routledge, such as Encyclopedia of the World's Minorities; Encyclopedia of International Relations and Global Politics; Encyclopedia of the United Nations and International Agreements.
Encyclopedia of social theory. 2005
 
Editor: George Ritzer. Thousand Oaks, California; London, U.K.; New Delhi, India, Sage publications, 2005.
Encompasses entries from a wide range of academic disciplines, including sociology, philosophy, anthropology, political science, women's studies, cultural studies and media theory. Has critical engagement with social issues, including the cutting-edge developments in modern, postmodern and globalizing societies.
SREF 301.01/357 /(1-2)
International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences. 2001
 
Comprehensive 26 volume work inclusive of social and behavioural science subjects, and biographical entries. Subject entries are written as articles which endeavour to include a definition, intellectual context of its development, changes in focus/emphasis over time, current emphasis, methodological issues, probable future directions. Includes entries for various aspects of development, such as economics of, development and the state, and provides an excellent overview of all aspects of globalization.
SREF300.3/13 vols 1 to 26.
The International development dictionary. 1991
 
Gerald W. Fry and Galen R. Martin. ABC-Clio.
Aims to provide language precision in the field of international development. Includes perspectives from diverse disciplines including economics, political science, sociology, history, geography and the humanities.
SREF338.9103/1