go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

East Asian History Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Databases

 Bibliography of Asian Studies  1971+
  Index. This is not an easy database to use but it is essential in the area of Asian studies, especially in the humanities and social sciences. Note country and subject search options.
 International Bibliography of the Social Sciences  1951+
  Index. Searches across the social sciences.
 Historical Abstracts 1955+
  Index. World history. For US history use America : History and Life 1964+
 Web of Science  1975+
  Index. Searches the top ranking journals in every field. Consists of 3 component databases, Science, Social Sciences, and Arts & Humanities. Deselect Science database before searching.  
 PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service)  1972+
  Index.  Searches journals on public policy and issues across the social sciences. Note, PAIS Archive back to 1915+ available from Selecte Database link
 Anthropology Plus 19th century+
  Anthropology Plus brings together Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Anthropology Plus provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works.
 Australian centred resources
 APAIS (Australian public Affairs Information Service) full text  1978+
  Main resource  for Australian information resources. Can be linked to other Informit databases such as Family & Society Plus and  MAIS : Multicultural Australia and Immigration Studies 1991+ and searched together via the the Change button and then ticking any relevant database and then clicking Start Searching.
 Asia Studies full text
  APEC resources and searchable via country (Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation).

Multidisciplinary databases

 Multidisciplinary databases with scholarly content
 JSTOR full text 1800+
  Retrospective to the early 19th century. Click above link and then click the Sirius link. JSTOR opens to the Advanced Search screen. Scroll down and nominate your subject areas e.g. Asian studies, Political Science, History, etc. JSTOR is not easy to use as citations before the 1960s do not have an abstract to search in, so often you have to search on the full text of an article. Note the Sort by option "Oldest To Most Recent". Also, to search without book review items, which are very numerous, see 'Narrow Your Search To': and tick only Article, e.g.
These Types:            
 Periodicals Archives Online full text 1770+
  Similar to JSTOR. A type of advanced search is offered via the select categories via the Journal Subject box.
 Project Muse full text 1993+
  Johns Hopkins University Press full text journals.
 British Humanities Index  1962+
   Multidisciplinary database with a U.K. and European perspective.
 Multidisciplinary databases with scholarly and general content
 N.B. These databases have a large content and allow researchers to limit their search to peer reviewed or scholarly journals via an option on the search page.
 Expanded Academic Press full text 1980+ (Note the effective Subject Search)
 Wilson Omnifile full Text Mega index from 1982+, full text from 1994+
 Factiva full text (International newspapers including 160 Australian publications and a search by region).
 Electronic books, reference books, dictionaries and encyclopedias
 Oxford Reference Online full text
  Includes A Dictionary of Contemporary World History, The Oxford Companion to the Politics of the World and other relevant reference works.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
 Oxford Scholarship Online
  Online books, political science, history, philosophy, etc.
 Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy full text
  Electronic encyclopedia. For more full text online reference resources see the reference page of this guide and use Oxford Reference Online.
 Annual Reviews full text 1970+
  Annual Reviews publishes review articles on issues, concepts and intellectuals. A review article will define the issue and examine it's main concepts and thinkers and will include a generous bibliography of the major published works.

Subject specific databases

Sociology and communications
 Sociological Abstracts  1974+
  Main resource for the study of society. Many resources on China.
 Communication Abstracts  (via CSA) 1977+
 Communication Studies: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 1982+ (Subset of above CSA database)
 Communication & Mass Media Complete full text (via Ebsco)
 Women's Resources International 1972+
Language and literature and education
 Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts 1973+
  Index. Paper index at SREF405/16 from 1967+
 MLA International Bibliography  1981+
  Index. Strong on literature, criticism, linguistics and film. Paper index at SREF805/50 from 1921+
 Index. ERIC is the main database that searches education journals. 
History and politics and international relations
 International Political Science Abstracts (IPSA)  1989+
  Index. The main resource for political science.
 Politics and International Relations full text  (via CSA) SAGE Full Text, 1982+
 ACLS History E-Book Project full text
  Electronic books.
 History Compass full text
  History Compass is an online resource from Blackwell Publishing which publishes original survey articles within  9 online journals, combined with a range of useful reference resources.
Philosophy
 Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Newspapers
 Times Digital Archive (London) full text  1785-1985
  Use keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
 New York Times full text   1851-2001
 
Full text of the newspaper via Proquest interface.
 Factiva full text  1980s +
  Huge range of English and foreign language newspapers that can go back to the 1980s. Includes Le Monde and The Washington Post. Australian publications include Sydney Morning Herald (1986+), Australian Financial Review (1982+), The Age (1991+) and The Australian. To search only Australian content click Source, find My Source Lists in the drop down menu, then highlight Group: Australian Publications. Before searching check the date drop-down menu.
 

Theses databases

  Proquest dissertations and theses
  Replaces Digital Dissertations. Covers North American theses from 1861 onwards, with abstracts included from 1980. Includes UNSW doctoral theses (from 1974) and theses from most universities in Great Britain (from 1988). Of the  more than 2 million listed, more than 600,000 of the more recent theses are now available for immediate free download.
 Index to theses
  Contains records of theses accepted for higher degrees by the universities of Great Britain and Ireland.
 Australian Digital Theses full text
  Australian theses. The ADT database provides access to PhD and Masters by Research theses only. Theses available to download in PDF format.
 Sirius theses page 
  This is a link to the Sirius Thesis page which lists all the main UNSW Library resources for theses including Writing and presenting your thesis or dissertation. This can be generated independently by entering Sirius and clicking Find Resources, click Locate, using the Type dropdown menu select Theses.

Libraries Australia (Kinetica)

 Libraries Australia (Kinetica)  The National Bibliographic Database
 
Libraries Australia enables you to search the holdings of 850 libraries in Australia, including all the major university libraries. Postgraduates and Academic/General Staff can request the loan of items or material not held in UNSW Library via the Interlibrary Loans request form