go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

East Asian History Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference ResourcesInternet Links

Key Resources

Bibliography of Asian Studies
  Database. Indexes journals relevant to Asian Studies. BAS is not the greatest database and it is not full text and it does not have SFX links. To find the articles researchers will have to either copy and paste the title of the journal into the LRD Catalogue or Sirius. If it's a book or chapter in a book, then copy and paste the book's title into the LRD Catalogue.
Expanded Academic full text
Database. One of the 5 general multidisciplinary databases with East Asian content. From the search screen, tick the radio button Search for words in title, citation, abstract. Note Limit the current search (optional) to refereed publications, for more scholarly results. Expanded Academic has a very effective Subject search.
Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan Electronic encyclopedia. Very brief entries.
  Also in print at SREF 952.003/4/(1-9) Level 3, Social Sciences & Humanities Library.
Encyclopedia of Asian History 1988
  Encyclopedia in print. SREF950/87 (1-4). 4 volumes found in the Level 3, Social Sciences & Humanities Library.
Japanese studies  
  Electronic journal. Print version available:  S952.00709405/2  from 2002 onwards.
Late Imperial China  
Electronic journal via the Project Muse database from 1996 onwards. Also in print at S951.0305/2 Vol. 6, no. 1 (June 1985)-v. 23, no. 2 (Dec. 2002)
Asian Studies WWW Virtual Library  
  Internet site.
Catalogue (LRD)   before clicking read the following:
 
Use the Catalogue (LRD) to search your library for books. Example: Click the above link to search using keywords "china republic emperor". Look at several records to see if they are relevant and click on the title of items to find the subject heading. Use these preferred terms in new keyword searches e.g "china history 20th century", depending on your interest.
MyCourse before clicking read the following:
MyCourse is the search engine for the Library Reserve. Lecturers place items in the Reserve that they want all their students to use. You can search MyCourse for a known item or by keyword, but the best search is to use your course code to find all items your lecturer wants you to access. Example: Click the above MyCourse link to search the course code HIST2043 (Modern China: The last emperors and the birth of modern China).

Related Subject Guides