go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Economics Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links
Statistics

Databases

 For a brief online tutorial click this link  How to...Using Databases  
ECONLIT
  International coverage of economics. Strong on economic theory. Indexes journals, books, conferences, dissertations, and contains the full text of book reviews. (1969+)
Emerald Fulltext Electronic Library
  Provides access to the full text of articles from over 100 business journals. (1989+)
ABI/Inform Global full text
  Provides indexing and abstracting of 1,500 journal titles in business, economics and related disciplines. The full text is provided to about 750 of these journals.
JSTOR full text  1800+
  Provides retrospective full text access to a range of journals. Click on browse to see the range of journals included, or search across a range of journals.
 Periodicals Archive Online  
  Similar to JSTOR in providing full text access to older issues of journals. Click on browse to see the range of journals included, or search across a range of journals.
Mergent
  International information relating to companies ; industry reports and country profiles. Click on electronic access and note the passwords in the blue frame at the top right of the page.
Business Source Premier full text
  Includes country economic reports as well as journal articles.
Business Who's Who of Australia
  This directory contains information on 22,000 Australian companies, and contains up-to-date data on : Company Directors & key personnnel, Contact information, including web addresses and e-mail, Tradenames and agencies, Business products, Who Owns Whom, Revenue, Employee Numbers, Rankings.
Oxford Scholarship Online full text E-books 
 
Oxford University Press has an extensive list of publications in Economics ranging from some of the classic thinkers to a number of modern masters, twentieth century winners of the Nobel Prize for Economics and, especially in the Clarendon series, many of those whose thinking is currently driving the subject forward.

Related Databases

APAIS (Australian Public Affairs Information Service) full text
  Major index to articles published in Australia. (1978+)
Asia Studies full text
  APEC (Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation), includes statistics, Asia wide statistics, country reviews, development reports and Australian APEC Study Centre publications 1995-2004 and much more.
  Index to Australian periodicals, focusing on consumer economics.
Factiva full text
  Full text coverage of a wide range in international newspapers, including the SMH, Australian Financial Review and The Australian. For best results, view in Explorer.
Expanded Academic full text
 
Provides the electronic full text version of over 1000 periodical titles, covering a broad range of academic disciplines, including economics.
 (1980+ )
NBER Working Papers (National Bureau of Economic Research)
  The National Bureau of Economic Research is a 'private non-profit nonpartizan research organisation dedicated to promoting and disseminating unbiased economic research among public policymakers, business professionals and the academic community'. The Working Paper series are the initial reports of their research findings. About 400 Working papers are published each year. The NBER Working Papers database can be searched by keyword(s) (titles and abstracts only), and recent papers viewed or printed page by page through your web browser, or in PDF format using the Adobe Acrobat software. (1992+)
ScienceDirect full text  
  Includes a section on economics, econometrics and finance.

Libraries Australia, Scopus & Web of Science

Libraries Australia
Formerly called Kinetica. Useful database for finding the location of items in other libraries in Australia. Includes holdings for 850 Australian libraries.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
Web of Science
Provides citation indexing, which is searching to find out who has cited a particular book or journal article.

Theses Databases

 Sirius Theses page
  This is a link to the Sirius Thesis page which lists all the main resources for theses including Writing and presenting your thesis or dissertation. This can be independently navigated by clicking Sirius, clicking Find Resources, click Locate  and using the Type dropdown menu, select Theses
 
Replaces Digital Dissertations. Covers North American theses from 1861 onwards, with abstracts included from 1980. Includes UNSW doctoral theses (from 1974) and theses from most universities in Great Britain (from 1988). Of the  more than 2 million listed, more than 600,000 of the more recent theses are now available for immediate free download. 
Index to theses
  Contains records of theses accepted for higher degrees by the Universities of Great Britain and Ireland.
Australian Digital Theses Program full text
  Australian theses. The ADT database provides access to PhD and Masters by Research theses only. Theses available to download in PDF format.