go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Education Studies Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Databases

Main databases for Education research
ERIC  (Education resources) 1966+
  Subject specific, scholarly content and the main resource for researchers of education. Indexes the contents of over 750 journals and ERIC Documents from 1966 onwards. For the full text of ERIC documents, see the link below.
ERIC for ERIC documents full text  1990+
  Eric Documents are indexed in the ERIC database but are not linked to their full text. The above link takes you to the ERIC web site, Advanced Search, where researchers can access the full text of 80% of ERIC Documents from 1990 onwards without charge.
ISI Web of Science  1956+
  Very important database. ISI indexes the top ranking journal in every field. It also offers citation searching. On entry, de-select the Science category.
Education Complete full text  (Proquest)
  Education Complete is part of the nest of Proquest databases (see below PQD 5000)
Expanded Academic full text
  Multidisciplinary with a limit to Peer reviewed. Although not a subject specific database, EA has a significant amount of full text education resources.
Wilson Omnifile full text
  Multidisciplinary with scholarly and general content. Can be searched specifically for education resources as follows: enter the Wilson database. See Subject Area window (bottom right), scroll down and select Education (EDU) and then search.
Annual Reviews full text
  AR is an ejournal. AR publishes articles that identify significant topics of academic interest and describes the major issues and contributors. The results of a search 'giftedness' include :
'GIFTEDNESS: An Exceptionality Examined' by Ann Robinson, Pamela R. Clinkenbeard and 'CREATIVITY' by Mark A. Runco.
Psychology databases
Psycinfo
  Scholarly content and the main resource for psychological research.  
Psycbooks full text
  Electronic books via Ovid includes books and chapters on learning and education.
Australian databases
 
Replaces Australian Education Index. A+ indexes journal contents et al, from 1978 onward and offers full text from  2000 onward. A+ can be linked to other databases as per the information following APAIS database.
AEI-ATSIS - Australian Education Index-Aboriginal and Torres
  For Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander issues
APAIS (Australian Public Affairs Information Service) full text
 
A multidisciplinary database. Any Informit Australian database i.e. A+ and APAIS can be linked and searched together via the Database button, top right hand button of the Informit search screen. The following Australian databases can be searched seperately or linked in this fashion.
AGIS Plus text: Attorney-General's Information Service full text  - (legal database) full text from 1999, index from 1975+
DELTAA - Database on English Language Teaching for Adults in Australasia. Index from 1985+
Family & Society Plus full text  - full text from 2000, index from 1980+
MAIS  (Multicultural Australia and Immigration Studies) - index from 1988+
AUSPORT   (sport)
Factiva full text
  Multidisciplinary database. News and business information from more than 8000 international sources, including Australian newspapers such as the Sydney Morning Herald, the Australian and the Australian Financial Review.

Multidisciplinary databases

Multidisciplinary full text databases: general and scholarly content
Multidisciplinary full text databases: scholarly content
N.B. These databases also search across diverse subjects but return only results from peer reviewed or scholarly journals.
 
Project Muse full text, 1995+ Johns Hopkins journals.
 
Science Direct full text, index from 1820+ and full text from 1996+.
 
JSTOR full text, 1800+ Now opens to Advanced Search. Scroll down and nominate your subject areas before searching. 
 
Additional scholarly databases
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts  1973+
  Main resource for language and linguistics research: research in linguistics (the nature and structure of human speech) ; research in language.
MLA International Bibliography (Modern Languages)
  Main resource for language studies but includes extensive materials on learning and teaching.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
ISI Web of Science 1956+
 
Very important database. ISI indexes the top ranking journals in every field. It also offers citation searching. On entry de-select the Science category.
Also provides citation indexing, which is searching to find out who has cited a particular book or journal article.
ASSIA : Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts 1987+
  Indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, economics, politics, race relations and education.
Sociological Abstracts  1974+
  Main resource for sociology. Provides international coverage of sociology and sociological issues.
IBSS International Bibliography of the Social Sciences 1951+  via OVID
  Indexes the information contained in over 2,600 social sciences journals and 6,000 books each year.
British Humanities Index 1962+
  Indexes over 320 humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries.
PAIS International  1972+
 
Important index to political, economic, and social issues in current debate. Note PAIS Archive back to 1915+ from the Select database link on database search page.
These databases may also be useful for special interests:
philosophy                        women's studies                                     world history from 1450
 
Oxford Scholarship Online full text
  Electronic books database. Not a huge amount on education but a Subject search "education" retrieves 9 books, 66 chapters including The Demands of Liberal Education  Levinson, Meira. 2002.

Theses databases

Sirius theses page 
  This is a link to the Sirius Thesis page which lists all the main UNSW Library resources for theses including Writing and presenting your thesis or dissertation. This can be generated independently by entering Sirius and clicking Find Resources, click Locate, using the Type dropdown menu select Theses.
Proquest Dissertations and Theses
  With more than 2 million entries, PQD&T is the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and masters theses. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Masters theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.
Index to Theses
  Contains records of theses accepted for higher degrees by the universities of Great Britain and Ireland.
Australian Digital Theses Program full text
  Provides full text access to recent Australian PhD and Masters by research theses. Theses available to download in PDF format.

Libraries Australia (Kinetica) and Board of Studies and Grants and more

Libraries Australia (Kinetica)  The National Bibliographic Database
 
Libraries Australia enables you to search the holdings of 850 libraries in Australia, including all the major university libraries. Postgraduates and Academic/General Staff can request the loan of items or material not held in UNSW Library via the Interlibrary Loans request form
 
 
 
Papers Invited
 
PapersInvited was conceived and developed to assist researchers at all levels - scientists, professors, post-docs and students who are seeking publishing opportunities for their research papers. PapersInvited presents an extensive list of Calls for Papers issued by professional bodies, journal editors and other conference organizers in all disciplines