go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

English Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference ResourcesInternet Links

Databases

For a brief online tutorial click this link  How to...Using Databases   
MLA International Bibliography
  Product of the Modern Languages Association. Covers the world's literature from all time periods. (1981+)
AUSTLIT
  A comprehensive index to Australian literature. (1970+)
Linguistics and language behaviour abstracts
  Very comprehensive coverage of all aspects of language and linguistics. (1973+)
The year's work in English studies   2001+
  Print version at SREF820.6/6 Vol. 1 1919/20+
An annual publication which provides an overview or review of the major critical works and research studies published in English literature. Arranged by time period and includes literature in English published outside Britain.
Contemporary literary criticism (CLC)
  Critiques the works of novelists, poets and playwrights. Very good starting point for researching authors and their works.  Biographical information supplied.
Only in print at SREF809.05/1 (1973+) Literary Index is an index to the articles in CLC.
Shakespeare Collection
  The Shakespeare Collection brings together general reference data, full-text scholarly periodicals, reprinted criticism, primary source material and the full-text annotated works from The Arden Shakespeare.
Literature on Line (LION)  full text
  Literature Online is a fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 168 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.

Multidisciplinary Databases (many with full text)

APAIS (Australian Public Affairs Information Service) full text
  Major index to articles published in Australian journals. Covers all topics. (1978+)
Expanded Academic full text
  This database provides access to a wide range of academic journals, including a number in the area of literature. (1980+)
Wilson Omnifile full text
  Includes coverage of the Social Sciences Index, The Humanities Index and Reader's Guide.
Project Muse full text
  Provides access to over 40 Johns Hopkins University Press academic journals. Coverage includes literature and drama.
JSTOR full text  1800+
  Provides retrospective access to a range of journals. Click on browse to see the range of journals included, or search across a range of journals.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
Periodicals Archive Online
  Similar to JSTOR in providing full text access to older issues of journals. Click on browse to see the range of journals included, or search across a range of journals. British emphasis.
Factiva full text
  Full text coverage of a wide range of  international newspapers including Australian newspapers. Good source for book  reviews.

Subject specific databases

Alternative Press Index
  Indexes resources outside mainstream academic literature. Strong emphasis on minoritiy cultures, women's issues, gay and lesbian issues. (1991+)
America : history and life
 
A major index to Americana, including literature and cultural traditions. (1982+)
British Humanities Index
  Good coverage of the humanities in Britain, Europe and Commonwealth countries.
Communication & Mass Media Complete full text
  Broad coverage of all aspects of media. Includes coverage of text and genre.
International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance full text
   Contains full text of 100 journals related to theatre and dance and full text of 50 books on related topics. Includes a significant number of English literature journals.
Poole's index to periodical literature
  Indexes newspapers and journals from the 19th century.
Only in print at  SREF 052/82 /(1-4) 
The Wellesley index to Victorian periodicals, 1824-1900 :  Tables of contents and identification of contributors, with bibliographies of their articles and stories.
  Only in print at SREF050/8/(1-6)
Psycinfo
  Major international resource for psychology. Includes psychology of language. (1967+)
Women's Resources International
  Provides citation indexing, which is searching to find out who has cited a particular book or journal article.

Libraries Australia & Web of Science

Libraries Australia 
Formerly called Kinetica. Useful database for finding the location of items in other libraries in Australia. Includes holdings for 850 Australian libraries. 
Web of Science
Provides citation indexing, which is searching to find out who has cited a particular book or journal article. 

Theses databases

 Sirius Theses page
  This is a link to the Sirius Thesis page which lists all the main resources for theses including Writing and presenting your thesis or dissertation. This can be independently navigated by clicking Sirius, clicking Find Resources, click Locate  and using the Type dropdown menu, select Theses
 
Replaces Digital Dissertations. Covers North American theses from 1861 onwards, with abstracts included from 1980. Includes UNSW doctoral theses (from 1974) and theses from most universities in Great Britain (from 1988). Of the  more than 2 million listed, more than 600,000 of the more recent theses are now available for immediate free download. 
Index to theses
  Contains records of theses accepted for higher degrees by the Universities of Great Britain and Ireland.
Australian Digital Theses Program full text
  Australian theses. The ADT database provides access to PhD and Masters by Research theses only. Theses available to download in PDF format.