go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

English Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Key Resources

 Oxford Reference Online full text
  Online access to a large range of Oxford reference resources. Includes The Oxford Companion to English Literature, The Concise Oxford Companion to American Literature, The Oxford Companion to American Literature, The Concise Oxford  Dictionary of Literary Terms, A Dictionary of Shakespeare, The Oxford Companion to Shakespeare, A Dictionary of Writers and their Works, The Oxford Companion to Twentieth Century Poetry in English.
MLA International Bibliography
  Product of the Modern Languages Association. Covers the world's literature from all time periods. (1981+)
AUSTLIT
  A comprehensive index to Australian literature. (1970+)
Catalogue Library Resources Database (LRD)
 
The LRD is the Library's catalogue. It is a complete listing of all items held by the Library, in all formats and is a good starting point for finding information. Use the LRD in particular to search for books relating to your topic of interest.
 
 The following are some suggested search terms in the LRD.
 
australian* drama
australian* dramatists
australian*  fiction history and criticism
australian* fiction 20th century [use fiction for novels]
authors australian*
colonies in literature [use also for postcolonialism]
decolonization in literature [use also for postcolonialism]
deconstruction
gender identity in literature
literary form [use for genre]
postcolonialism
postmodernism literature
sex role in literature [use for gender]
women and literature australia*
women authors australia*
 
* also use the names of other tradions here, E.g. english, american etc.]

Related Subject Guides