go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

English Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Reference Resources

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of World Literature in the 20th century. 1999
  Only in print at  SREF803/94/(1-4)
Encyclopedia of post-colonial literatures in English. 2nd ed. 2005
  Only in print at SREF820.99171241/10A /(1-2)
Encyclopedia of language and linguistics. 1994
  Only in print at SREF403/11
Contemporary literary criticism (CLC).
  Only in print at SREF809.05/1 Vol. 1 (1973)-v. 5 (1976); 1977+
An annual publication which is a very useful starting point for information on individual authors. It includes novelists, poets, playwrights, short story writers, journalists, screen writers etc. In addition to brief biographical information, CLC provides summaries of the main critical reviews and articles written about the authors. Entries are updated at intervals. Literary Index is an index to the articles in CLC.
Encyclopedia dictionary of symbols. 1994
  Only in print at SREF302.2/107/(1-2)
International companion encyclopedia of children's literature. 1996
  Only in print at SREF809.89282/47
The Continuum encyclopedia of children's literature. 2001
  Only in print at  SREF809.8928203/1

Dictionaries and guides to literature

Oxford English Dictionary Online
  The Online version of the Oxford English Dictionary, contains the full text of the 20 volume hard cover dictionary, with over 60 million words describing 750,000 terms used in the English language in the last one thousand years. Also included are about 2.4 million quotations.
Oxford Reference Online full text
  Online access to a large range of Oxford reference resources.
 The concise Oxford dictionary of literary terms. 2nd ed. 2001
  In print at SREF803/96
The Johns Hopkins guide to literary theory and criticism. 1994
  Only in print at SREF801.95/329
The Cambridge guide to literature in English. 1993
  Only in print at SREF820.9/350A
The Cambridge history of English and American literature full text 
  Free access to this resource
The Oxford companion to children's literature. 1984
  Only in print at SREF809.89282/13
The Oxford companion to Australian children's literature. 1993
  Only in print at SREF809.89282/14
 The Cambridge guide to children's books in English. 2001
  Only in print at  SREF820.9928203/1
A Dictionary of postmodern terms
  Only available electronically