go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Environmental Management Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | JournalsReference Resources | Internet Links
Government Information

Australian Databases

Australian Public Affairs Information Service (APAIS) full text
  Main index to journals and periodicals published in Australia. (1978+)
AESIS
  This database includes Australian-generated published and unpublished documented materials over the full range of the geosciences, minerals and petroleum. From 1979 it also covers material published on continental Australia by non-Australian sources.
ANSTI : Australian Nuclear Science & Technology Information (1970+)
  Indexes the Australian scientific and technical literature in nuclear science research and development, 'with special emphasis on peaceful applications'.
AUSSTATS
  AusStats is a web based information service providing the ABS full standard product range on-line. Free to UNSW staff and students.
Agriculture and Natural Resources Index (1975+)
  Indexes published and unpublished material on agriculture in Australia. It is produced by Infoscan (CSIRO). It contains 76,000+ records, and indexes journal articles, books, monographs, research reports, fact sheets and conference papers.
Agriculture and natural resources research (1984+) 
  A research database containing research and development projects ongoing or completed in the last 2 years. It is a complementary database to the CARRP (Completed Australian Rural Research Projects) which contains the archived records from ARRIP. It is produced by Infoscan P/L (CSIRO), and contains 6,000 plus records.
  A research database containing completed and archived research and development projects from the ARRIP (Australian Rural Research in Progress) database. It contains 6,500 plus records of research projects concluded more than 2 years ago, and is the archive database for the ARRIP database.
EVA: Environmental Abstracts
EVA - Environmental Abstracts, (formerly EPIC), produced by the EPA Victoria Library, is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles on the environment and related fields. Source documents are selected journal articles from approximately 600 journals.
MEDGE: Management and Environment Information
Management and Environment Information (MEDGE), produced by Information Edge, is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles on management issues for business and government; including international economies, the Australian economy, strategic and financial management, TQM, human ...
  Indexes books, maps, journals and audiovisual material relating to the Great Barrier Reef and the activities of the Great Barrier Marine Park Authority.
  Indexes journals, published and unpublished reports, research in progress, books, monograph chapters and conference proceedings. Information must be written by an Australian or be about Australia. Contains more than 26,500 citations to Australian literature on all aspects of water and waste water utilization.

Full text databases

Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management
Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management is a multidisciplinary database covering all areas of environmental sciences.
Expanded Academic full text
  Includes 1000 periodical titles. (1980+)
Factiva full text
  Full text coverage of a wide range of international newspapers, including the SMH, Australian Financial Review and The Australian.
ScienceDirect full text  
  A collection based of 1150 journal titles published by Elsevier. (1996+) Includes Geobase, a database strong on environmental and green issues.
Wilson Omnifile full text
  Includes coverage of the Social Sciences Index and General Science Abstracts.
Annual reviews
  Annual Reviews save you time by synthesizing the vast amount of primary research literature and identifying the principal contributions in your field. From the front page of this database, scroll down the list under publications. Under Physical Sciences, select Environment and Resources.

Related Databases

Alternative Press Index
  Covers 250 alternative, radical and left wing publications, including many popular and academic publications not found indexed elsewhere. International coverage. Strong coverage of environmental issues. (1991+)
CAB Abstracts
  Indexes over 16,000 journals and book, covering sustainable development, emphasising agriculture, forestry, human health and the management of natural resources, with particular attention to the needs of developing countries. (1984+)
Energy Files
  EnergyFiles provides information, tools, and technologies to facilitate the use of scientific resources and capabilities in planning and conducting energy-related research. The EnergyFiles' goal is to maximize access to and usefulness of the vast body of knowledge that exists in the energy community, establishing the foundation for a National Library of Energy Science and Technology.
GrayLIT Network
  Includes science reports of US Federal agencies. Some international coverage.
JSTOR full text
  Provides retrospective full text access to a range of journals. Click on browse to see the range of journals included, or search across a range of journals.
Left Index
  Broad coverage of a range of literature from the Left. (1982+)
Management and Environment Information : MEDGE
  Includes environmental management. (1985+)
NTIS
  NTIS is the central source for the public sale of U.S. government-sponsored research, development and engineering reports. Information comes from approximately 600 U.S.government agencies, and foreign governments, with whom they have a bilateral agreement to exchange information, most notably the U.K., Japan, and Germany.
Oceanic Abstracts
  Indexes technical literature relating to marine and brackish water environment. (1992+)
SAI Global
Australian Standards Online provides full text access to all current Australian Standards, joint Australian/New Zealand Standards and joint Australian/New Zealand/ISO Standards. Access to approximately 6000 standards.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
Web of Science
  Provides citation indexing, which is searching to find out who has cited a particular book or journal article.