go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Environmental Management Subject Guide

Key Resources | DatabasesJournals | Reference Resources | Internet Links
Government Information

Reference Resources

Encyclopaedias & Handbooks

SpringerLink reference works
  Includes The Earth Sciences Encyclopedia online and Earth, Plant and Environmental sciences.
Encyclopedia of Energy
  Very comprehensive and interdisciplinary. Includes sections on history, environment, social aspects of energy as well as technical aspects.
Encyclopedia of Forest Sciences
  The Encyclopedia of Forest Sciences also covers relevant biology and ecology, different types of forestry (e.g. tropical forestry and dryland forestry), scientific names of trees and shrubs, and the applied, economic, and social aspects of forest management.
Politics and international relations resource
A fully-searchable and cross-referenced database from Routledge Reference Resources. It includes over 30 reference books published by Routledge, such as International Encyclopedia of Environmental Politics.
  Also in print at PREF363.7003/12
Blackwell's concise encyclopedia of environmental management. 1999
  Only in print at PREF363.7003/11
The encyclopedia of ecology & environmental management. 1998
  Only in print at PREF363.7003/10
Encyclopedia of environmental analysis and remediation. 1998
  Only in print at PREF628.03/8/(1-7)
Encyclopedia of global change : environmental change and human society.
  Only in print at PREF363.7/212/(1-2) 2002
Encyclopedia of global environmental change.
  Only in print at PREF363.7003/13/(1-5) 2002
Environmental technology resources handbook. 2003
  Only in print at PREF363.70025/2
Handbook of environmental impact assessment. 1999
  Only in print at P333.714/19
Encyclopedia of world environmental history. 2004
  Only in print at SREF304.203/3 /(1-3)

Dictionaries

Oxford Reference Online full text
 
Online access to a large range of Oxford reference resources. Includes : A Dictionary of Earth Sciences ; The Oxford Companion to the Earth ;  A Dictionary of Ecology ; A Dictionary of Geography ; A Dictionary of Weather.
Environmental engineering dictionary. 4th ed. 2005
  Only in print at PREF628.03/3B
 Encyclopaedic Australian Legal Dictionary
  Only available electronically. Includes non-legal terms in areas such as commerce and environmental management.
Dictionary of environmental science and technology. 3rd ed. 2000
  Only in print at PREF628.03/4C
The Australian dictionary of science, technology and the environment. 1991
  Only in print at PREF503/87
Biodiversity glossary of terms
  Only available electronically. Product of the World Resources Institute.