go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

European Studies Subject Guide

Key Resources | DatabasesJournals | Reference | Internet Links
Current Events

Reference Resources

Encyclopedias

Oxford Reference Online full text
  Online access to a large range of Oxford reference resources. Includes The Oxford Companion to British History, A Dictionary of Contemporary World History and A Dictionary of World History.
Politics and International Relations Resources full text
  Online access to a large range of  Routledge reference resources. Includes : The European Union Handbook ; A Dictionary of the European Union ; Encyclopedia of Eastern Europe ;  Europe since 1945
Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment. 2003
  Only in print at SREF940.2503/3/ (1-4)
The European powers in the First World War : an encyclopedia. 1996
  Only in print at SREF940.303/1
Encyclopedia of the Second World War. 1989
  Only in print at SREF940.53/68
Encyclopedia of the Holocaust. 1990
  Only in print at SREF940.5318/39/(1-4)
The Cold War, 1945-1991. 1992
  Only in print at SREF909.82/164/(1-3)
International who's who
  Biographical information for contemporary world figures.

Dictionaries & Guides

The Longman companion to Napoleonic Europe. 1993
  Only in print at SREF940.27/59A
 The new Penguin dictionary of modern history, 1789-1945. 2nd ed. 2001
  Only in print at SREF903/44A
Dictionary of East European history since 1945. 1994
  Only in print at SREF947.0003/1
A dictionary of twentieth century history, 1914-1990. 1992
  Only in print at SREF909.8203/3
European culture : a contemporary companion. 1993
  Only in print at SREF940.5503/1
Dictionary of the history of ideas. 1973
  Only in print at SREF901.9/112/(1-4)
Sources in European political history. 1991
  Only in print at SREF940.28/127/(1-3)
European political facts, 1789-1848. 1981
  Only in print at SREF940.27/41
European political facts, 1848-1918. 1978
  Only in print at SREF940.28/128
European political facts, 1918-73. 1975
  Only in print at SREF320.94/28
A political and economic dictionary of Eastern Europe. 2002
  Only in print at SREF947.086/26

Chronologies & Atlases

Historical tables, 58 BC - AD 1985. 11th ed. 1986
  Only in print at SREF902/1D
Book of dates : a chronology of world history. 1993
  Only in print at SREF902.02/10
Chronology of the modern world, 1763 to 1992. 2nd ed 1994
  Only in print at SREF909.08/32
The Times Atlas of European history. 1994
  Only in print at SREF911.4/4A 
The Penguin atlas of recent history : Europe since 1815. 1982
  Only in print at S940.28/115
The Economist atlas of the new Europe. 1992
  Only in print at PATREF912.4/9 (Level 7)
Atlas of Eastern Europe in the twentieth century. 1996
  Only in print at P912.47/6
Atlas of Eastern Europe, August 1990. 1990
  Only in print at PAT912.47/4 (Level 7)
A historical atlas of the Jewish people : from the time of the prophets to the present day. 1992
  Only in print at SREF909.04924/91