go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Film Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | JournalsReference Resources | Internet Links

Databases

For a brief online tutorial click this link  How to...Using Databases 
Film Indexes Online
Film Indexes Online brings Film Index International (British Film Institute) and American Film Institute Catalog together in one site.
Expanded Academic full text
Good coverage of film. Includes film reviews. (1980+ )
Film Literature Index
Comprehensive international coverage of all aspects of film, including coverage of non-English speaking film traditions. Includes film reviews. Includes television and video production. No full text, but helps to identify a large number of references.
Available also in print at SREF791.4305/37.
MLA International Bibliography
Product of the Modern Languages Association. Covers the world's literature from all time periods. Includes strong coverage of film, especially such areas as transition from literature to film, film as text and film directors. (1981+)
Rotten tomatoes
This site collates in one place full text access to film and DVD reviews from all  over the world, from a variety of sources including newspapers.
Communication & Mass Media Complete full text 
One of the Ebsco databases. Broad coverage of media issues. Very useful for social and technical aspects of film.

Multidisciplinary Databases (many with full text of journal articles)

Wilson Omnifile full text
  Includes coverage of the Social Sciences Index, The Humanities Index and Reader's Guide. Includes reviews. 
Australian Public Affairs Information Service (APAIS) full text
  Major index to journals and periodicals published in Australia. (1978+)
Factiva full text
  Full text coverage of a wide range of international newspapers, including the SMH, Australian Financial Review and The Australian. Good source for reviews.
JSTOR full text  1800+
  Provides retrospective access to a range of journals. Click on browse to see the range of journals included, or search across a range of journals.
Periodicals Archive Online
  Similar to JSTOR in providing full text access to older issues of  journals. Click on browse to see the range of journals included, or search across a range of journals. Some journals dating back to 1770. Emphasis on British resources.
Project Muse full text
  Provides access to over 40 Johns Hopkins University Press academic journals. Coverage includes film and other arts.

Subject specific databases

Alternative Press Index
  Useful for coverage of experimental film and areas such as gay and lesbian film and film traditions in non-English speaking cultures. (1991+)
America : history and life
  A major index to Americana, including film and cultural traditions. (1982+)
Art Full Text
  International coverage of art periodicals. Includes areas of film such as cinematography, design and mise-en-scene. (1984+)
Arts Hub
   Arts Hub is the online home for Australian arts workers.
The database includes:
Jobs Bulletin, online employment resource listing positions vacant and positions wanted, including job opportunities from the UK and USA.
News from Australia's arts industry news service, including news and current affairs issues from both Australia and overseas.
AUSTLIT
  Although primarily a database for Australian literature, includes coverage of film making, film scripts, adaptation of texts etc. (1970+)
Bibliography of Asian Studies
  Indexes Western language periodicals. Includes coverage of Asian film industries and traditions. (1971+)
British Humanities Index
  Includes coverage of Europe and Commonwealth countries.
Historical Abstracts
  Covers world history from 1450 to the current century. Does not include American History. (See above, America : history and life) Includes historical and political aspects of film, especially areas such as film propaganda. (1982+)
Music Index
  International coverage of all aspects of music, including film music and the use of music in film. (1979+)
Psycinfo
  Scholarly content and the main resource for psychological research. 
Sociological Abstracts
  Major international index to the literature of sociology. Emphasis on cultural aspects and social contexts of film. Coverage also of areas such as gay and lesbian film ; gender issues in film and feminist film. (1974+)
Women's resources international
  International resource covering all areas of women's studies, including film. (1972+)

Libraries Australia , Scopus & Web of Science

Libraries Australia 
Formerly called Kinetica. Useful database for finding the location of items in other libraries in Australia. Includes holdings for 850 Australian libraries. 
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
Web of Science
Provides citation indexing, which is searching to find out who has cited a particular book or journal article. 

Theses Databases

 Sirius Theses page
  This is a link to the Sirius Thesis page which lists all the main resources for theses including Writing and presenting your thesis or dissertation. This can be independently navigated by clicking Sirius, clicking Find Resources, click Locate  and using the Type dropdown menu, select Theses
 
Replaces Digital Dissertations. Covers North American theses from 1861 onwards, with abstracts included from 1980. Includes UNSW doctoral theses (from 1974) and theses from most universities in Great Britain (from 1988). Of the  more than 2 million listed, more than 600,000 of the more recent theses are now available for immediate free download. 
Index to theses
  Contains records of theses accepted for higher degrees by the Universities of Great Britain and Ireland.
Australian Digital Theses Program full text
  Australian theses. The ADT database provides access to PhD and Masters by Research theses only. Theses available to download in PDF format.