go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Film Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Key Resources

Film Indexes Online
 
Film Indexes Online brings Film Index International (British Film Institute) and American Film Institute Catalog together in one site.
Film Literature Index
 
Comprehensive international coverage of all aspects of film, including coverage of non-English speaking film traditions. Includes film reviews. Includes television and video production. No full text, but helps to identify a large number of references.
Available also in print at SREF791.4305/37.
Expanded Academic full text
  Good coverage of film. Includes film reviews. (1980+ )
Wilson Omnifile full text
Includes coverage of the Social Sciences Index, The Humanities Index and Reader's Guide.
Film Index International
  A product of the British Film Institute. International coverage of films produced since 1930. Search is restricted to titles of films and the names of personalities. Includes references to periodical articles and film reviews. (1930+)
This database is accessible only from the UNSW Library Database Network menu at one of the networked workstations in the main Library. Ask at the Level 3 Information Desk.
 
Catalogue Library Resources Database (LRD)
 
The LRD is the Library's catalogue. It is a complete listing of all items held by the Library, in all formats and is a good starting point for finding information. Use the LRD in particular to search for books relating to your topic of interest.
 
 The following are some suggested search terms in the LRD.
 
cinematography
comedy films
documentary films
documentary films production and direction
feature films
motion picture actors and actresses
motion picture industry
motion picture music [use for film music]
motion picture producers and directors
motion pictures [use for film, movies, cinema]
motion pictures australia* [use the name of any country here]
motion pictures history and criticism
motion pictures production and direction
women motion picture producers and directors

Related Subject Guides