go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Film Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Reference Resources

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC)
 
Only in print at  SREF809.05/1  Vol. 1 (1973)-v. 5 (1976); 1977+ 
An annual publication which is a very useful starting point for information on individual authors. It includes novelists, poets, playwrights, short story writers, journalists, film directors, screen writers etc. In addition to brief biographical information, CLC provides summaries of the main critical reviews and articles written about the authors. Entries are updated at intervals. Literary Index is an index to the articles in CLC.  
Critical dictionary of film and television theory. 2001
  Only in print at SREF791.4301/103
Hayward, Susan
Cinema studies : the key concepts. 2000
  Only in print at SREF791.4303/29D
Dictionary of film and television terms. 1983
  Only in print at SREF791.4303/21
Dictionary of film terms. 1983
  Only in print at SREF791.4303/19
The Oxford Companion to film. 1976
  Only in print at SREF791.4303/6
The film encyclopedia. 4th ed. 2001
  Only in print at SREF791.4303/25A
Cinema studies : the key concepts. 2nd ed. 2002  
  Only in print at S791.4303/29C
Dictionnaire du cinema. 1982-1992
  Only in print at SREF791.43092/26/(1-3)
Google directory : Online film dictionaries
  Links to a number of film glossaries & dictionaries

Guides to film

The eleventh virgin film guide. 2003
  Only in print at SREF791.437/294B
Magill's survey of cinema--English language films, first series. 1980
  Only in print at SREF791.437/222/(1-4)
Magill's survey of cinema. English language films, second series. 1981
  Only in print at SREF791.437/249/(1-6)
International motion picture almanac. 1961+
  Only in print at SREF791.4305/2
International dictionary of films and filmmakers. 4th ed. 2000
  Only in print at SREF 791.4303/20 A/(1-4)
The movie list book : a reference guide to film themes, settings, and series. 1990
  Only in print at SREF791.437/268
Enser's filmed books and plays : a list of books and plays from which films have been made, 1928-1991. 1993
  Only in print at SREF791.43/79D
The American Film Institute catalog of motion pictures produced in the United States. 1988+
  Only in print at SREF791.43/77/(1-3) more volumes planned.
The American Film Institute desk reference. 2002
  Only in print at SREF791.43/426
The bent lens :  a world guide to gay and lesbian film. 2nd ed. 2003
  Only in print at  SREF791.43653/7A

Guides to genre

Film noir : an encyclopedic reference to the American style. 3rd ed. 1992
  Only in print at SREF791.430973/366A
Shoot-em-ups : the complete reference guide to Westerns of the sound era. 1978
  Only in print at SREF791.435/33
The science fiction image : the illustrated encyclopedia of science fiction in film, television, radio and the theater. 1983
  Only in print at   SREF791.43090915/3
Encyclopaedia of the musical film. 1981
  Only in print at SREF791.437503/1
Encyclopedia of American film comedy. 1987
  Only in print at SREF791.43090917/4

Guides to non-American film traditions

 
The Oxford companion to Australian film. 1999
  Only in print at SREF791.430994/107
Twin peeks : Australian and New Zealand feature films. 1999
  Only in print at SREF791.430994/106
The Australian film and television companion : over 2400 alphabetical entries. 1994
  Only in print at SREF791.4503/2
Australian film : a guide to feature film production 1900-1977. 1998
  Only in print at SREF791.430994/14
The British film catalogue. 3rd ed. 2001
  Only in print at SREF 791.43/74B/(1-2)
Encyclopaedia of Indian cinema. 1999
  Only in print at SREF791.430954/18
The Chinese filmography : the 2444 feature films produced by studios in the People's Republic of China from 1949 through 1995.
  Only in print at SREF791.430951/13
The Japanese filmography : a complete reference to 209 filmmakers and the over 1250 films released in the United States, 1900 through 1994. 1996
  Only in print at SREF791.430952/29
The Irish filmography : fiction films, 1896-1996. 1996
  Only in print at SREF791.4309415/4
French films, 1945-1993 : a critical filmography of the 400 most important releases. 1996
  Only in print at SREF791.4370944/2
Diccionario del cine espanol. 1994
  Only in print at SREF791.430946/40
Directory of Eastern European film-makers and films, 1945-1991. 1992
  Only in print at SREF791.430947/47
Directory of African film-makers and films. 1992
  Only in print at SREF791.43096/5