go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Foundation Studies Subject Guide

To find journal articles for your research topics, you will need to use a database. Databases index the contents of hundreds of journals, and contain hundreds of thousands of records that identify individual articles. Although databases are similar, be prepared for small variations. 
 
When you click the database links below, you may be asked to enter your Unipass
 
Imagine you are asked to find journal articles for a research essay using a database. Your topic is 'What are the key issues effecting relations between China and Taiwan?' 
Typically a researcher will resolve their topic into keywords, which then are typed into the search box, seperated with an AND. A database search would look like this 'china and taiwan and relations'. Then click 'Search'...
 
...Too many results! Usually databases offer a Modify or Limit button that allow researchers to add another keyword, or you might just add '...and security' to the search string.
 
Your Search Results will be a list of articles that include all your search terms, somewhere in the record. Each database record will include, 1. the title of the article, 2. the author, 3. the name of the journal and year etc. (Together this information is called the citation). If the text of the article is available then a link will be evident for you to print, download or email the article.
 
(If the text is not available then you might find it via the SFX button that is near the citation. SFX will take you to a variety of resources that offer that particular article, so you can click SFX and follow the links...)
 
The Title of the article (and sometimes a link that says Complete record) when clicked, will display all the information about that article. This is called the Full Display of the record. It includes the Abstract, and live link Subject Headings.
The Abstract is a short description of the contents of the article and aids the researcher in the selection process. 
The Subject Headings are clickable links that generate a Subject Search of all records in the database that share that term, which then a researcher may limit with another keyword. Often Subject Heading will give you the term the database prefers to use and also alerts researchers to relevant topics (or keywords) the researcher had not thought of.
 

 Databases for Australian topics
 APAFT full text index from 1978+ and full text from 1995+
  Australian centred and multidisciplinary. When the full text is not offered, click the SFX icon, which may offer links to other resources that offer the full text of the article and also a link to the UNSW  LRD catalogue for journal holdings in print.
Factiva is password protected. Enter by using your Student number and Unipass. You will need to change the 'a' in your student number to a 'z' e.g. a1123456 to z1123456
  International newspapers and a major resource for Australian newspapers, including the Sydney Morning Herald,  Australian Financial Review and The Australian. For best results, view in Internet Explorer. Database opens Search All Publications which includes international and Australian publications. To search only Australian publications click the dropdown menu beside Select Source Category and scroll up and click on My Source Lists. Highlight  Group : Australia Publications so that it becomes selected. Now you can search all 160 Australian publications. Choose date range i.e. All Dates and then enter your keywords seperated with And,  e.g. redfern and riots. To search international newspapers click + Source, highlight All sources and search...

 Databases for international topics (including Australian content)
 If you wish to search an international database for Australian topics you can add 'and australia' to your keyword or subject search.
 Business Source Premier full text
  Multidisciplinary, scholarly & general content.   Use keyword searching e.g. genetic engineering and ethics...note subjects on records such as stem cells. Note option to limit search to
 Factiva full text  :Factiva is password protected. Enter by using your Student number and Unipass. You will need to change the 'a' in your student number to a 'z' e.g. a1123456 to z1123456
  International newspapers and a major resource for Australian newspapers. For best results, view in Explorer. Factiva should open to an All Sources search but if it doesn't click + Source, highlight All sources to search international newspapers and Austalian content. Type your search terms in the search box e.g. taiwan and elections. Choose your date range e.g. All dates.
 Expanded Academic ASAP full text
  Multidisciplinary, scholarly & general content. Use keyword searching e.g. genetic engineering and ethics. Expanded Academic has a very effective Subject Search option. Note subjects headings on records such as Genetic Engineering - Ethical Aspects, Biotechnology, Cloning etc. Note button to limit search to Refereed publications, for more scholarly results. Expanded Academic has a spendid Subject Search so, experiment...
  Multidisciplinary, scholarly & general content. Includes Business Periodicals Index. Indexes 2,730 journals back to 1982. Full text of 1,300 journals available from 1994 onwards.

 Additional useful electronic resources
  Electronic dictionary.
 Encyclopædia Britannica Online full text
 Oxford Reference Online full text
  Many reference resources including dictionaries and encyclopedias for definitions.
 New York Times 1851-2001 full text (United States of America)
  Historic Newspaper
 Times Digital Archive full text  (London) 1785-1985
  Historic Newspaper
 
 How to ... Using the Databases, For a brief online tutorial, click this link,