go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Women's and Gender Studies Subject Guide

Key Resources  | Databases | Journals | Reference ResourcesInternet Links

Databases

For a brief online tutorial click this link How to...Using Databases  
 Sociological Abstracts
  Major international resource for sociology. Good source for feminist theory. (1974+)
 Women's studies international
  Broad ranging coverage of women's issues. (1972+)
Historical Abstracts
  Covers world history from 1450 to present day, including social history.
 Alternative Press Index
  Indexes resources outside mainstream academic literature. Strong emphasis on women's issues, feminism, gender studies. (1991+)
JSTOR full text   1800+
  Provides retrospective full text access to a range of journals. Click on browse to see the range of journals included, or search across a range of journals.
Communication & Mass Media Complete Full text
  Broad coverage of media and related topics.
Defining Gender 1450 - 1910
 
This new online project brings together approximately 50,000 images of original manuscript and printed material, including a strong core of documents from the Bodleian Library, Oxford . Ephemeral material such as ballads, cartoons and pamphlets is featured alongside diaries, advice literature, medical journals, conduct books and periodicals. Structured into five sections, Defining Gender, 1450-1910, Online addresses Conduct and Politeness (Section I), Domesticity and the Family (Section II), Consumption and Leisure (Section III), Education and Sensibility (Section IV) and The Body (Section V).

Related Databases

 APAIS (Australian Public Affairs Information Service) full text
  Major index to journals published in Australia.
 ASSIAnet : Applied Social Science Abstracts
  Indexes practical and theoretical issues in the Social Sciences.  (1987+)
Bibliography of Asian Studies
  Indexes Western language periodicals. Includes coverage of gender in Asian societies. (1971+)
Expanded Academic full text
  Covers a wide range of academic journals (1980+)
FAMILY : Australian Family and Society Abstracts  
  Compiled by the Australian Institute of Family Studies. Includes coverage of women's and gender issues (1980+)
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences : IBSS
  One of the premier social sciences databases. (1951+)
International Political Science Abstracts  
  Includes coverage of women in politics, gender politics and feminist politics. (1989+)
Left Index
  Covers a broad range of literature of the left. Includes coverage of social issues.
MAIS : Multicultural Australia and Immigration Studies
  An Australian database focusing on multiculturalism, ethnicity and race relations within Australia. Useful for coverage of migrant women in Australia. (1940+)
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service)
  International coverage of international relations and current events. (1972+) 
Poole's index to periodical literature
  Indexes newspapers and journals from the 19th century
Only in print at SREF050/8/(1-6)
PsycINFO
  Scholarly content and the main resource for psychological research.  
Open J-Gate
  Open J-Gate is an electronic gateway to global journal literature in open access domain and provides access to millions of journal articles available online.

Libraries Australia, Scopus & Web of Science

Libraries Australia  
Formerly called Kinetica. Useful database for finding the location of items in other libraries in Australia. Includes holdings for 850 Australian libraries. 
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
Web of Science
Provides citation indexing, which is searching to find out who has cited a particular book or journal article. 

Theses Databases

 Sirius Theses page
  This is a link to the Sirius Thesis page which lists all the main resources for theses including Writing and presenting your thesis or dissertation . This can be independently navigated by clicking Sirius, clickingFind Resources, clickLocate  and using theType dropdown menu, selectTheses
 
Replaces Digital Dissertations. Covers North American theses from 1861 onwards, with abstracts included from 1980. Includes UNSW doctoral theses (from 1974) and theses from most universities in Great Britain (from 1988). Of the  more than 2 million listed, more than 600,000 of the more recent theses are now available for immediate free download. 
Index to theses
  Contains records of theses accepted for higher degrees by the Universities of Great Britain and Ireland.
Australian Digital Theses Program full text
  Australian theses. The ADT database provides access to PhD and Masters by Research theses only. Theses available to download in PDF format.