go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

German Studies Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Databases

 For a brief online tutorial click this link How to...Using Databases  
MLA International Bibliography
  Product of the Modern Languages Association, covers literature and languages, including German.
Historical Abstracts
  Covers world history from 1450 to present day.
Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft
  Only in print at SREF830.05/16. Most articles refered to are in German, but some other languages are included. (1969+)
Expanded Academic full text
  Covers a wide range of academic journals, including a number in the areas of history, politics, music, literature and art. (1980+)
History Compass
  History Compass is an online resource which publishes original survey articles within 9 online journals, combined with a range of useful reference resources.
Linguistics and language behaviour abstracts
 
Includes German language. (1973+)

Multidisciplinary databases (many with full text of journal articles)

Project Muse full text
 
Provides access to the full text of over 40 Johns Hopkins University Press academic journals. Coverage includes history and politics.
Wilson Omnifile full text
  Includes coverage of the Social Sciences Index, The Humanities Index, Reader's Guide and Education Index.
Factiva full text
 
Full text coverage of a wide range of international newspapers, including German language newspapers.

Subject specific databases

Alternative Press Index
  Indexes resources outside mainstream academic literature. Good source of information for areas such as women's studies, human rights, minority politics etc. (1991+)
British Humanities Index
  Good coverage of Europe.
International Political Science Abstracts
  Good coverage of political history and international relations. (1989+)
Keesing's Current Events
 
Provides objective accounts of the world's key events, and is one of the most comprehensive and reliable digests of current international affairs.
Only in print at SREF909.8205/1
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service)
 
International coverage of international relations and current events. (1972+)
Philosopher's Index  
 
Strong coverage of the history of political thought and political ethics. (1940+)
Poole's index to periodical literature
 
Indexes newspapers and journals from the 19th century.
Only in print at SREF050/8/(1-6)
Women's Resources International
 
Broad ranging coverage of women's issues. (1972+)

Libraries Australia, Scopus & Web of Science

Libraries Australia  
Formerly called Kinetica. Useful database for finding the location of items in other libraries in Australia. Includes holdings for 850 Australian libraries. 
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
Web of Science
Provides citation indexing, which is searching to find out who has cited a particular book or journal article. 

Theses Databases

 Sirius Theses page
  This is a link to the Sirius Thesis page which lists all the main resources for theses including Writing and presenting your thesis or dissertation. This can be independently navigated by clicking Sirius, clicking Find Resources, click Locate  and using the Type dropdown menu, select Theses
 
Replaces Digital Dissertations. Covers North American theses from 1861 onwards, with abstracts included from 1980. Includes UNSW doctoral theses (from 1974) and theses from most universities in Great Britain (from 1988). Of the  more than 2 million listed, more than 600,000 of the more recent theses are now available for immediate free download. 
Index to theses
  Contains records of theses accepted for higher degrees by the Universities of Great Britain and Ireland.
Australian Digital Theses Program full text
  Australian theses. The ADT database provides access to PhD and Masters by Research theses only. Theses available to download in PDF format.