go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

History & Philosophy of Science Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Databases

 For a brief online tutorial click this link How to...Using Databases  
History of Science,Technology and Medicine
  Indexes journals, chapters in books and reports. International coverage. (1970+)
Philosopher's Index
  Includes philosophy of science and technology. International coverage. (1940+)
Historical Abstracts
  Covers world history from 1450 to present. Includes history of science and technology.
Religious Periodicals Index full text
  Covers all religions and periods of history. Useful for science and religion.
Oxford Scholarship Online full text
  Over 700 complete and fully searchable books, (with at least 200 titles to be added each year) in the fields of Economics and Finance, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion.

Multidisciplinary databases

Expanded Academic full text
  This database provides coverage of a wide range of academic journals, including a number in the area of the history of science and technology. (1980+)
JSTOR full text   1800+
  Provides retrospective fulltext access to a range of journals. Click on browse to see the range of journals included, or search across a range of journals.
Periodicals Archive Online
  Similar to JSTOR in providing full text access to older issues of journals. Click on browse to see the range of journals included, or search across a range of journals.
Project Muse
  Provides access to over 40 Johns Hopkins University Press academic journals across a range of disciplines.
Wilson Omnifile full text
  Includes coverage of the Social Sciences Index, The Humanities Index and Reader's Guide. Includes reviews. 
Science Direct  
  Includes coverage of history and philosophy of science.

Subject specific databases

Academic Research Library full text
  One of the Proquest databases. Good coverage of history and philosophy.
Alternative Press Index
  Indexes resources outside mainstream academic literature. (1991+)
America : history and life
  A major index to Americana, including coverage of science and technology. (1982+)
British Humanities Index
  Includes coverage of Europe. Strong on history and philosophy.
Poole's index to periodical literature
  Indexes newspapers and journals from the 19th century
Only in print at SREF050/8/(1-6)
Psycinfo
  Major international database for psychology. (1887+)

Libraries Australia, Scopus & Web of Science

Libraries Australia  
Formerly called Kinetica. Useful database for finding the location of items in other libraries in Australia. Includes holdings for 850 Australian libraries. 
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
Web of Science
Provides citation indexing, which is searching to find out who has cited a particular book or journal article. 

Theses Databases

 Sirius Theses page
  This is a link to the Sirius Thesis page which lists all the main resources for theses including Writing and presenting your thesis or dissertation . This can be independently navigated by clicking Sirius, clicking Find Resources, click Locate  and using the Type dropdown menu, select Theses
 
Replaces Digital Dissertations. Covers North American theses from 1861 onwards, with abstracts included from 1980. Includes UNSW doctoral theses (from 1974) and theses from most universities in Great Britain (from 1988). Of the  more than 2 million listed, more than 600,000 of the more recent theses are now available for immediate free download. 
Index to theses
  Contains records of theses accepted for higher degrees by the Universities of Great Britain and Ireland.
Australian Digital Theses Program full text
  Australian theses. The ADT database provides access to PhD and Masters by Research theses only. Theses available to download in PDF format.