go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

History & Philosophy of Science Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Reference Resources

Encyclopedias

Oxford Reference Online full text
  Online access to a large range of Oxford reference resources. Includes full text access to The Oxford Companion to the History of Modern Science.
McGraw-Hill encyclopedia of science & technology. 9th ed. 2002
  Only in print at PREF503/31M/(1-20)
Encyclopedia of cognitive science. 2003
  Only in print at SREF153.03/4/(1-4)
Encyclopedia of ideas that changed the world : the greatest discoveries and inventions of human history. 1993
  Only in print at PREF909/176
Reader's guide to the history of science. 2000
  Only in print at SREF509.03/6
The scientific revolution : an encyclopedia. 2001
  Only in print at S509.403/2
Encyclopedia of the scientific revolution : from Copernicus to Newton. 2000
  Only in print at  PREF509.403/1
 Encyclopaedia of  Islamic science and scientists. 2005
  Only in print at  PREF 297.26503/1 /(1-4)

Dictionaries

New dictionary of the history of ideas. 2005.
  Only in print at SREF901.9/112 B/(1-6)
A dictionary of the history of science. 2001
  Only in print at PREF509.03/7
Dictionary of concepts in the philosophy of science. 1988
  Only in print at SREF501.03/1
Glossary of epistemology/philosophy of science. 1993
  Only in print at  SREF121.03/1
Academic Press dictionary of science and technology. 1992
  Only in print at  PREF503/90
Dictionary of ethics, theology and society. 1996
  Only in print at  SREF032/132