go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Organisation and Management Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links
Statistics

 For a brief online tutorial click this link,  How to ... Using the Databases

Australian centred databases

 APAIS full text from 1995+ & index from 1978+
 
Indexing service with mainly Australian content. APAIS can also be linked and searched in combination with other Australian databases. After entering APAIS, click the Database button on the top left hand of the search screen. Tick any database you think is relevant including APAIS and then click Start Searching. Below is a list of some of these Australian databases relevant to Organisation and Management and Industrial Relations.
  IREL (Industrial Relations),  Giblin Working Papers Database (from last 5 years), WorklitAIMMAT - AIM Management & Training Database,  OMNRES - OMN Training Resources Database, Resources.
 Factiva full text
  Huge international content and a major resource for Australian newspapers. Includes SMH, Australian Financial Review and The Australian. For best results, view in Explorer - to access Australian materials, from the dropdown menu select My Source Lists. Highlight Group : Australia Publications to search the 160 Australian publications in Factiva. Click All Sources to search all the contents of Factiva.
 
APEC (Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation), includes statistics and reports, country reviews, development reports and Australian APEC Study Centre publications 1995-2004 and much more.

 International databases (including Australian content) 
 
  WoS indexes the top ranking journals in every field. On entry, de-select the Science database.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
 Emerald full text
  Small management collection of about 100 journals.
(1) Multidisciplinary databases with scholarly and general content N.B. Search  results can be limited to scholarly or peer reviewed journals via a check box on the search page (except for Factiva)
 Business Source Premier full text
 
Indexes 4000 journals of which 1000 are peer reviewed. Includes Harvard Business Review from 1922+
 ABI/Inform Global full text
  Good coverage of marketing, economics and business journals. Full text of about 750 of the 1,500 journals covered.
 Expanded Academic ASAP full text
  Tip! Subject Search 'labor relations' finds 4000 articles. Narrow by subdivision, gives easy access to topics via subheadings.
 Wilson Omnifile FT Mega full text
  Includes Business Periodicals Index. Indexes 2,730 journals back to 1982. Full text of 1,300 journals available from 1994+
 Factiva full text
  Huge international content and a major resource for Australian newspapers, including the SMH, Australian Financial Review and The Australian. For best results, view in Explorer -to access Australian materials, choose from the dropdown menu My Source List, any selection starting with Group is a fixed set of publications i.e. Group : Australia Publications only searches all Australian publications in Factiva.
 (2) Multidisciplinary databases
  A major resource for social sciences students
 British Humanities Index (CSA) 1962+
  BHI has a UK and European bias.
 PAIS  1972+
 
 PAIS has a USA bias
 (3) Multidisciplinary databases with only scholarly content.
   Apart from Project Muse, these databases allow researchers to nominate categories before searching. 
 Project Muse full text (Johns Hopkins University journals)
 JSTOR full text  from the early 19th Century +
  JSTOR now opens to the Advanced search screen. On entering JSTOR, scroll down and nominate your categories, e.g. Business, Economics, and Finance,  then fill in the search box. Note the Sort by option "Oldest To Most Recent". Also, to search without book review items, which are very numerous, see 'Narrow Your Search To': and tick only Article.
 Periodicals Archives Online full text 1770+
  Note Journal Subject search allows searching by subject e.g. Business/Management, Economics, Public Administration.
 ScienceDirect full text 1823+ as an index, selected titles full text from 1900+ and a comprehensive collection full text from 1995+
  Click "Search" on the top righthand side. Either search the whole database or search by selecting categories by holding down the Control key and clicking relevant categories e.g. Arts & Humanities, Business, Management and Accounting etc. SciDir includes Geobase which searches environmental, 'green' issues and development studies.
 (4) Subject Specific databases
 Sociological Abstracts (CSA) 1974+
  Sociological Abstracts has a sophisticated thesaurus for searching subject terms. Click Search tools, click Thesaurus, type 'labor relations' and nominate Hierarchy and click Go. This gives your term and related terms that maybe of interest.
 Social Services Abstracts (CSA) 1980+  
  Social work, human services, social welfare, social policy.
 ECONLIT (Economic Literature) via CSA 1969+
  Scholarly. Index searching sociological journals. A search using a field code may improve results e.g. de=labor relations, or de=economic history retrieve more focused results ('de=' performs a descriptor or subject search)
  Scholarly content for health, social services, economics, politics, race relations and education.
 NBER Working Papers full text
  National Bureau of Economic Research.
 Communication Databases
 Communications and Mass Media full text (via Ebsco) 1982+
 
 Communication Abstracts  (via CSA) 1977+
 
 Communication Studies: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 1982+ (Subset of above CSA database)

Reference

 Oxford Reference Online full text
  Includes Dictionary of the Social Sciences, A Dictionary of Contemporary World History, The Oxford Companion to the Politics of the World and other relevant reference works
 Oxford Scholarship Online full text
  Online books, political science, history, philosophy etc
 
 

Libraries Australia, Scopus and Theses databases

 Libraries Australia ( Kinetica)
  The national database that searches all the major library holdings in Australia. Postgraduates can request any  item not held at UNSW via Interlibrary Loans.
 Sirius Theses page
  This is a link to the Sirius Thesis page which lists all the main resources for theses including Writing and presenting your thesis or dissertation. This can be independently navigated by clicking Sirius, clicking Find Resources, click Locate  and using the Type dropdown menu, select Theses.
 Proquest Dissertations and Theses full text
  With more than 2 million entries, PQD&T is the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and masters theses. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Masters theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.
 Index to Theses 1970+
  Contains records of theses accepted for higher degrees by the universities of Great Britain and Ireland.
 Australian Digital Dissertations full text
  Australian online theses.