go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Organisation and Management Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links
Statistics

Key Resources

 APAIS: (Informit Search) full text (1978+), full text from 1995+
 
Multidisciplinary database. Indexes the contents of mainly Australian journals. APAIS can also be linked and searched in combination with other Australian databases. N.B. See this guide's Database list for more information regarding Australian databases.
 Factiva full text
Multidisciplinary database. Huge international content and a major resource for Australian newspapers, including the SMH, Australian Financial Review and The Australian. For best results, view in Explorer - to access Australian materials, from the dropdown menu select My Source Lists. Any selection starting with Group is a fixed set of publications i.e. Group : Australia Publications only searches the Australian publications in Factiva.
 ECONLIT (Economic literature) from 1969+
  Scholarly indexing database with SFX links to electronic articles and LRD (catalogue). Try a search using fielded codes e.g. de=accountants or de=((auditor) or (auditing)) or de=accounting - this may retrieve more focused results (the fielded code 'de=' performs a descriptor or subject search)
  Business Source Premier full text
  Multidisciplinary, scholarly & general content. Indexes 4000 journals including 3600 full text scholarly publications and 1000 peer reviewed journals. Includes Harvard Business Review, country economic reports and detailed company reports. 
 Encyclopedia of Management. 2000
  SREF658.003/1, this item located in the UNSW Library, Social Sciences Library, Level 3 Reference Collection. 
 Encyclopedic Dictionary of Organizational Behavior
SREF658.003/17(6), this item located in the UNSW Library, Social Sciences Library, Level 3 Reference Collection.
 Harvard Business Review full text
  HBR is a leading scholarly business journal . It is available electronically full text from EBSCO Business Source Premier database back to 1922. It is also available in print at SQ650.6/1 Vol. 1, no. 1 (1922+)
 Industrial and Labor Relations Review full text
  Another leading journal available electronically full text from databases EBSCO Business Source Premier & JSTOR from 1947.
  NSW Department of Industrial Relations
  Internet site.
Internet site.
 LRD Catalogue  (before clicking read below first) or link to the online tutorial How to ... Using the LRD
 
Use the LRD to search your library for books and journals. Search for a known book by choosing to search in either the "author field" or the "title field". The quickest search for a known book may be an "All Keywords" search using the author's (or editor's) name and a few words of the title. Search for a journal by typing its title "journal of finance", selecting "Title Keyword" search and limiting your search to Journals only. 
Search for unknown books in the library collection by resolving your topic into keywords "corporation ethics" and starting with an "All keywords" search. Note the Subject Heading on the full display of records. Use these as subject searches by clicking on them, or use the terms you consider relevant as keyword searches. Subject Heading give you a clue to preferred terms and to related topics that you may not have thought of.
MyCourse UNSW Library Course Reserve (before clicking read below first) or link to the MyCourse online  tutorial
 
MyCourse is the search engine for the Course Reserve. Lecturers place items in the Reserve that they want all their students to use. You can search MyCourse for a known item or by keyword, but the first search should be with your course code to find all items your lecturer wants you to access e.g. mgmt1701.

Related Subject Guides