go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Information Systems Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links

For a brief online tutorial click this link,  How to ... Using the Databases

Databases from Social Sciences

Provides indexing and abstracting of 1,500 journal titles in business, economics and related disciplines. The full text is provided to about 750 of these journals.
 
Multidisciplinary databases with general and scholarly content
These kinds of databases allow researchers to limit their search results to Peer Reviewed or Scholarly journals (except Factiva).
 
N.B. very effective Subject search.
 
Australian and overseas newspapers.
 
Multidisciplinary databases with scholarly content
Indexes the top ranking journals. Consists of 3 component databases: choose only Social Sciences Citation Index. WoS also has a Cited Reference Search.
 
This is a journal that publishes articles that review the debate and writings on significant issues.
 
 
 
 
Johns Hopkins Uiversity Press journals.
 
The following 3 databases allow you to select categories and then search:
 
Click Search Sciences and choose your categories by holding down Ctrl key and clicking to highlight.
 
JSTOR full text early 1800 +
Opens to Advance Search screen. Scroll down and nominate your subject areas.
 
Scroll down the search page and nominate your categories. Includes articles in 40 languages.
Subject specific databases
Society and sociology and education
 
 
 
ERIC  (Education resources) 1966+
ERIC is the main database for education resources.
Communication and information science
 
 
International library science and information science records.
 
 
 
 
Management
 
Contents of 100 management journals
 
 

Databases from the Physical Sciences

ACM Digital Library full text
  Contents of Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) periodicals.
  Engineering, information technology and physics. IEEE journals, transactions and conferences, IEEE standards, IEE conferences and the journal IEE Letters.
Engineering Village 2 full text 1884+
  Includes Inspec and Compendex databases. 
ScienceDirect full text
  Includes GEOBASE, the main electronic resource for engineering.
  Indexes the theoretical research and practical applications of computing and related sciences
General Science Full Text
  Indexes major English language journals published chiefly in the U.S.
  150 titles, latest editions of a selection of titles from two of the leading publishers in information technology.
ISI Web of Science from 1945+
  Multidisciplinary & scholarly content only. Indexes the top ranking journals across all subjects. Consists of 3 component databases: choose only Sciences Citation Index. ISI also has a Cited Reference function.
NTIS: National Technical Information Service from 1966+
  NTIS is the central source for the public sale of U.S. Government-sponsored research, development and engineering reports.
GrayLIT Network
  Gray literature of U.S. Federal agencies.
Australian Standards On-line
  Provides full text access to all current Australian Standards, joint Australian/New Zealand Standards and joint Australian/New Zealand/ISO Standards.

Librarianship and archives centred databases

International abstracting and indexing of information science.
 
LL&IS is a Wilson database. Wilson Omnifile (see above), searches all Wilson databases.
 
Indexes Australian articles. See Australian section to search ALISA with APAIS databases.
 
International library science and information science records.
 
See Australian section to search ARMANZ with APAIS databases.
 
PC is one of the 17 Proquest databases. PQD5000  (see above).

Databases with Australian content

APAIS (Australian Public Affairs Information Service) full text index from 1978+, full text from 1995+
 
APAIS is the main database for Australian materials. APAIS can be linked to other Australian databases (listed below) and searched together. Enter APAIS and click the Change button (top right of screen) and tick the relevant databases. Click Start Searching button.
ALISA: Australian Library & Information Science Abstracts - 13892 records
CSI: Consumer Sciences Index - 27,655 records
ARLIT: Archives and Records Management Literature in Australia and New Zealand - 2060 records
CIA: Computer Index Australasia - 21,326 records
ENGINE: Australian Engineering Database 
  Huge international database, strong in Australian newspapers, including Sydney Morning Herald, The Age, The Australian and AFR. Click Source, scroll up the resulting window and click on My Source Lists, highlight Group: Australian Publications - this will search only Australian publications. N.B.  choose Enter date range when looking for specific articles.

Theses databases

 Sirius Theses Page 
  This is a link to the Sirius theses page which lists all the main resources or theses including Writing and presenting your thesis or dissertation. Alternately, locate this page by entering Sirius and clicking Find Resources, click Locate, using the Type dropdown menu select Theses.
 Proquest dissertations and theses
 
Replaces Digital Dissertations. Covers North American theses from 1861+, with abstracts included from 1980. Includes UNSW doctoral theses (from 1974) and theses from most universities in Great Britain (from 1988). Of the  more than 2 million listed, more than 600,000 of the more recent theses are now available for immediate free download.
 Index to Theses
  Contains records of theses accepted for higher degrees by the universities of Great Britain and Ireland.
 Australian Digital Theses full text
  Provides full text access to recent Australian PhD and Masters by research theses. Theses available to download in PDF format.

Scopus & Libraries Australia

Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
Libraries Australia (KINETICA) The National Bibliographic Database
  Libraries Australia enables you to search the holdings of 850 libraries in Australia, including all the major University libraries. Postgraduates and Academic/General Staff can request the loan of items or material not held in UNSW Library via the Interlibray Loans request form.