| |

|
 |
International Relations Subject Guide
Databases
| International Political Science Abstracts: IPSA 1989+ |
| |
The major resource for journal articles on international relations and political science, but often not the best database. |
| Political Science: A Sage Full-Text Collection (via CSA), 1972+ |
| |
Small database that includes the full text of 23 journals published by SAGE and participating societies. N.B. Most journals in this collection start from a later date, i.e. 1980's etc. |
| Scopus |
|
|
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
|
| ISI Web of Science 1956+ |
| |
Multidisciplinary/scholarly content. Indexes only top ranking journals across all subjects. Consists of 3 component databases: select only Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts and Humanities Citation Index. |
| International Bibliography of the Social Sciences 1951+ via OVID |
| |
Multidisciplinary with substantial Pol Sci. Coverage includes philosophy, politics, sociology, mass communication. Advanced Search allows to limit to Articles. |
| Multidisciplinary databases with scholarly content |
| JSTOR full text 1800+ |
| |
Retrospective to the late 19th century. Now opens to Advanced Search. S croll down and nominate your subject areas e.g. Political Science, History, etc. JSTOR is not easy to use as citations before the 1960s do not have an abstract to search in. Note the Sort by option "Oldest To Most Recent". Also, to search without book review items, which are very numerous, see 'Narrow Your Search To': and tick only Article, e.g.
|
| Periodicals Archives Online full text 1770+ (formerly PCI) |
| |
Similar to JSTOR. Can be searched by subject category via the journal subjects option. |
| Project Muse full text 1993+ |
| |
Johns Hopkins University Press full text journals. |
|
Multidisciplinary databases with scholarly and general content
N.B. These databases allow researchers to limit their search to peer reviewed or scholarly journals via an option on the search page.
|
|
|
| Expanded Academic Press full text 1980+ (Note the effective Subject Search) |
| Wilson Omnifile Full Text Mega index from 1982+, full text from 1994+ |
| Factiva full text (International newspapers including 160 Australian publications) |
| Specialist databases. |
|
|
| |
Annual Reviews is a database of subject specific journals that synthesize primary research literature and identifies the principal contributions in specific fields of research e.g. political science and sociology. |
|
|
| |
Sociological Abstracts is the most comprehensive resource for sociological research with significant amounts on international relations, political economy, marxism, and democracy etc.
Sociology: A SAGE Full Text Collection is a small collection of approximately 37 journals (including the journal Sociology). Most of the collection dates from 1980's 1990's.
|
| CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online |
| |
An Internet database that seems to link to freely available materials found on the internet. Some caution is recommended when using this. |
Hapi Online (Hispanic American periodicals index online)
Electronic books, reference books, dictionaries and encyclopedias
|
| Politics and International Relations Resource |
| |
Database offers over 30 reference books and dictionaries, including The Routledge Companion to Fascism and the Far Right, and The Terrorism Reader. |
| Oxford Reference Online full text |
| |
Includes A Dictionary of Contemporary World History, The Oxford Companion to the Politics of the World and other relevant reference works. |
| Oxford Scholarship Online full text |
| |
Online books, political science, history, philosophy etc |
| Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy full text |
| |
Electronic encyclopedia. |
| Europa World 2004 |
| |
One of the world's leading reference works, covering political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.
Area specific.
|
| |
| |
|
Australian centred resources and Asia centred resources
| Australian centred resources |
| APAIS (Australian public Affairs Information Service) full text 1978+ |
| |
APAIS is the main resource for Australian research. APAIS can be linked to other relevant Australian databases such as:
These may be searched together. After entering any of the Australian databases, click the Resources button (top left of screen), then tick any relevant database, then click Start Searching.
Print version from 1945 onwards at SREF994.005/7, Level 3 Social Sciences & Humanities Library
|
|
|
| |
APEC (Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation), includes statistics and reports, country reviews, development reports and Australian APEC Study Centre publications 1995-2004 and much more. |
| Factiva full text |
| |
International newspapers and 160 Australian publications including Sydney Morning Herald, The Age, The Australian. Database opens to Australian Publications. To search all contents click +Source, and highlight ALL
|
| Libraries Australia Kinetica (to search the holdings of Australian libraries) |
|
Asia centred resources
The first 3 databases are very relevant for all students researching Asian topics. The databases below these 3 are probably more suited to the demands of postgraduate courses although there is no reason why undergraduates should not use them too.
|
| Bibliography of Asian Studies |
| |
Indexes scholarly journals in the area of Asian studies, especially in the humanities and social sciences.
|
| Factiva full text (International newspapers) |
| Asia Studies full text APEC (Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation) |
| Excerpta Indonesica International indexing service for Indonesian studies. |
| Bibliography of Indonesian Politics and the Economy 1965-1998 |
| SASI (The Southeast Asian Serials Index) |
| Indonesian Learned Periodicals Database (PDIP) Index, mainly in the Indonesian language. |
| INTAN MAS Indexes literature on Timor and the Eastern Indonesian provinces. |
| |
|
| |
Additional databases by subject
| Additional multidisciplinary databases |
| PAIS 1972+ |
| |
Index from the United States.
|
|
|
| |
Index from the United Kingdom. |
| Left Index 1982+ |
| |
Indexes a variety of journals including politically left journals. |
| Alternative Press Index 1991+ |
| |
Index. Provides international coverage of sociological issues. Some in full text. |
| Bibliography of Asian Studies 1971+ |
| |
Index centred on Asia. |
| History |
| Historical Abstracts 1982+ |
| |
World history from 1450, excluding the United States. |
| America : History and Life 1964+ |
| |
Index. Main resource for history of the United States. |
| History Compass full text |
| |
History Compass is a new online resource from Blackwell Publishing, which publishes original survey articles within 9 online journals, combined with a range of useful reference resources. |
| ACLS History E-Book Project full text |
| |
Electonic books database. |
| Sociology and Society and Communication studies: including Development |
| Sociological Abstracts (via CSA) 1974+, Marxism, political economy, democracy, social development etc |
| Communication Abstracts (via CSA) 1977+ |
|
|
| Communication & Mass Media Complete full text (via Ebsco) |
| Women's Resources International 1972+ |
| |
Covers international literature on women's studies, feminism, family, employment and psychology. |
| ScienceDirect full text from 1823 as an index and full text from 1995+ (includes Geobase for development studies) |
| Philosophy |
| Philosopher's Index 1940+ |
| |
Index. The main database for scholarly philosophy journal articles. |
| Law |
| Legal Trac |
| |
Major legal resource that includes coverage of international law, treaties and international relations. Covers more than 800 law journals from the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand. Provides some full text. |
| Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals 1994+ |
| |
Index. |
|
|
| |
|
Newspapers: contemporary and historic
| Times Digital Archive (London) full text 1785-1985 |
| |
Use keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching. |
| New York Times full text 1851-2001 |
| |
Full text via the Proquest database.
|
| Factiva full text 1980s + |
| |
Huge range of English and foreign language neswpapers that can go back to the 1980s. Includes Le Monde and The Washington Post. Australian publications include Sydney Morning Herald (1986+), Australian Financial Review (1982+), The Age (1991+) and The Australian. To search only Australian content click Source, find My Source Lists in the drop down menu, then highlight Group: Australian Publications. Before searching check the date drop-down menu. |
Theses databases
| Sirius Theses page |
| |
This is a link to the Sirius Thesis page which lists all the main resources for theses including Writing and presenting your thesis or dissertation. This can be generated independently by entering Sirius and clicking Find Resources, click Locate, using the Type dropdown menu select Theses. |
| Proquest Dissertations and Theses full text |
| |
With more than 2 million entries, PQD&T is the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and masters theses. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Masters theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. |
| Index to Theses |
| |
Contains records of theses accepted for higher degrees by the universities of Great Britain and Ireland. |
| Australian Digital Theses full text |
| |
Provides full text access to recent Australian PhD and Masters by research theses. Theses available to download in PDF format. |
Libraries Australia (Kinetica)
| Libraries Australia (KINETICA) The National Bibliographic Database |
| |
Libraries Australia enables you to search the holdings of 850 libraries in Australia, including all the major university libraries. Postgraduates and Academic/General Staff can request the loan of items or material not held in UNSW Library via the Interlibrary Loans request form. |
|
|