go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

International Relations Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Key Resources

International Political Science Abstracts   1989 onwards
  Database index with SFX links to locate the full text of an article. The major resource for journal articles on international relations and political science.
APAIS (Australian public Affairs Information Service) full text  1978 onwards
Database index with some full text and SFX links to locate the full text of journal articles. Multidisciplinary. APAIS is the main resource for Australian materials. APAIS can be linked to other Australian databases, e.g. AGIS, and searched together by using the Change button and then ticking any relevant database and then clicking Start Searching.
Print version available at SREF994.005/7 from 1945 onwards, Level 3 Social Sciences & Humanities Library.
Factiva full text   - database for newspapers and journal articles
 
A multidisciplinary full text database with an international content. Also strong on newspapers. Includes an option to search only the 160 full text Australian publications as a group or individually, including Sydney Morning Herald, The Age, The Australian, Australian Financial Review etc.
Times Digital Archive full text   - online newspaper 1785-1985
  The entire The Times (London) newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos.
Oxford Scholarship Online   - electronic books database
  Over 700 complete and fully searchable books, in the fields of Economics and Finance, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion.
Oxford Reference Online full text
 Includes A Dictionary of Contemporary World History, The Oxford Companion to the Politics of the World and other relevant reference works
Encyclopedia of government and politics. 1992 - reference book
 
SREF320.03/23 vols. 1 & 2. Gives essay length definitions of concepts e.g. imperialism, arms control and disarmament. See more on the Reference page of this guide.
The WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs Resources   - internet site
 
This WWW Virtual Library system presents over 2000 annotated links in a range of international affairs topics.
Australian journal of international affairs : the journal of the Australian Institute of International Affairs  
 
Print version available at SQ327.9406/1 from 1990 onwards.
LRD Catalogue  before clicking read below:
 
Use the LRD to search the UNSW Library for books. Type the keywords "war terrorism". Look at several records to see if they are relevant and click on the title of items to find the subject heading. Use these preferred terms in new keyword searches e.g. "september terrorist attacks", depending on your interest.
MyCourse before clicking read below:
 
MyCourse is the search engine for the UNSW Library Reserve. Lecturers place in Reserve the items they want their students to use. You can search MyCourse for a known item or by keyword, but the first search should be using your course code to find all items your lecturer wants you to access. Example: Click the above MyCourse link. Type your course code e.g. pols1020 (International relations: continuity and change).

Related Subject Guides