| |

|
 |
Irish Studies Subject Guide
Databases
| For a brief online tutorial click this link How to...Using Databases |
| MLA International Bibliography |
| |
Product of the Modern Languages Association. Covers the world's literature from all time periods. (1981+) |
| Literature on Line (LION) |
| |
Full text of plays, prose and poetry. Includes Irish writers such as Wilde, Yeats, Joyce and others. Includes links to critical articles and web sites. |
| Contemporary literary criticism (CLC) |
| |
Critiques the works of novelists, poets and playwrights. Good coverage of Irish literature. Biographical information supplied. Only in print at SREF809.05/1 (1973+) Literary Index is an index to the articles in CLC. |
| Ireland-Australia transportation database |
| |
Product of the National Archives of Ireland. |
| Hayes, Richard J. Sources for the history of Irish civilization : articles in Irish periodicals. |
| |
Available on microfilm SM/7155/(1-18) |
| The collected letters of W.B. Yeats |
| |
This database contains the complete collection of Yeats's letters. It includes three volumes of Yeats's letters and commentary published by the Oxford University Press, plus the letters from its remaining 12 (unpublished) volumes.
|
Multidisciplinary databases (many with full text)
| APAIS (Australian Public Affairs Information Service) full text |
| |
Major resource for journals published in Australia. Use for Australian-Irish connection. (1978+) |
| Wilson Omnifile full text |
| |
Includes coverage of the Social Sciences Index, The Humanities Index and Reader's Guide. |
| Expanded Academic full text |
| |
Provides international coverage of academic journals, magazines and newspapers (1980+) |
| Academic Research Library full text |
| |
One of the Proquest databases. Good coverage of Irish History.
|
| Project Muse full text |
| |
Provides access to over 40 Johns Hopkins University Press academic journals. Coverage includes history. |
| JSTOR full text 1800+ |
| |
Provides retrospective full text access to a range of journals. Click on browse to see the range of journals included, or search across a range of journals. |
| Periodicals Archive Online |
| |
Similar to JSTOR. Strong coverage of British journals. |
| Times Digital Archive |
| |
The complete digital edition of The Times (London) newspaper. Use keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching. 1885-1985. Useful for contemporary reporting of Irish politics and culture. |
| New York Times |
| |
Similar resource to above. Date range 1851-2001 |
Subject specific databases
| AUSTLIT |
| |
A comprehensive index to Australian literature. (1970+) |
| British Humanities Index |
| |
Good coverage of the humanities in Britain, Europe and Commonwealth countries.
|
| Historical Abstracts |
| |
Covers world history from 1450 to present. |
| International Political Science Abstracts |
| |
Indexes political science journals in many languages. |
| Keesing's Current Events |
| |
Provides objective accounts of the world's key events, and is one of the most comprehensive and reliable digests of current international affairs.
Only in print at SREF909.8205/1 (1931+)
|
| Left Index |
| |
Broad coverage of a range of literature from the Left. (1982+) |
| PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) |
| |
International coverage of international relations and current events. (1972+) |
| Poole's index to periodical literature |
| |
Indexes newspapers and journals from the 19th century. Only in print at SREF050/8/(1-6) |
| Index to journal articles on Australian History. (Commonly referred to as "Hogan") |
| |
"Hogan" is a set of indexes listing articles on Australian history. Each of the four volumes deals with journal articles published within a particular span of years therefore, all volumes should be consulted. Hogan was last updated in 1994, covering articles published between 1984 - 1988. For articles published since then, refer to APAIS (listed above). Only in print at SREF994/53 (1974+) |
Libraries Australia, Scopus & Web of Science
| Libraries Australia |
| Formerly called Kinetica. Useful database for finding the location of items in other libraries in Australia. Includes holdings for 850 Australian libraries. |
| Scopus |
|
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
|
| Web of Science |
| Provides citation indexing, which is searching to find out who has cited a particular book or journal article. |
Theses Databases
| Sirius Theses page |
| |
This is a link to the Sirius Thesis page which lists all the main resources for theses including Writing and presenting your thesis or dissertation. This can be independently navigated by clicking Sirius, clicking Find Resources, click Locate and using the Type dropdown menu, select Theses. |
|
|
|
|
| |
Replaces Digital Dissertations. Covers North American theses from 1861 onwards, with abstracts included from 1980. Includes UNSW doctoral theses (from 1974) and theses from most universities in Great Britain (from 1988). Of the more than 2 million listed, more than 600,000 of the more recent theses are now available for immediate free download.
|
| Index to theses |
| |
Contains records of theses accepted for higher degrees by the Universities of Great Britain and Ireland. |
| Australian Digital Theses Program full text |
| |
Australian theses. The ADT database provides access to PhD and Masters by Research theses only. Theses available to download in PDF format. |
|
|