go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Irish Studies Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Reference Resources

Encyclopaedias

Encyclopedia of Irish history and culture. 2004
  Only in print at  SREF941.5003/5
The Hutchinson encyclopedia of Ireland : an A-Z guide to its people, places, history, and culture. 2000
  Only in print at SREF941.5003/3
The encyclopaedia of Ireland. 2003 
  Only in print at SREF941.5003/4
The Cambridge historical encyclopedia of Great Britain and Ireland. 1986
  Only in print at SREF941.003/1
Encyclopaedia of Ireland. 1968
  Only in print at  SREF941.503/1
Conflict in Northern Ireland : an encyclopedia. 5th ed. 1999
  Only in print at S941.6082/15
A William Butler Yeats encyclopedia. 1997
  Only in print at S821.9/YEA/36
The Australian people : an encyclopedia of the nation, its people and their origins. 2nd ed. 2001
  Only in print at SREF994/308H.
Includes a significant section on the Irish in Australia.
Encyclopedia of diasporas: immigrant and refugee cultures around the world. 2004
 
Only in print at SREF304.8/45 /(1-2)
Includes information on Irish migration throughout the world.
Politics and International Relations Resource
 
A fully-searchable and cross-referenced database from Routledge Reference Resources. It includes over 30 reference books published by Routledge, such as The Terrorism Reader; Encyclopedia of International Relations and Global Politics; The Routledge Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Political Thinkers.

Dictionaries & Companion Guides

 
Online access to a large range of Oxford reference resources. Includes The Concise Oxford Companion to Irish Literature.
The Oxford companion to Irish history. 2nd ed. 2002
 
Only in print at SREF941.5003/2B
A dictionary of Irish history since 1800. 1980
 
Only in print at SREF941.50810321/1
Companion to Irish history, 1603-1921 : from the submission of Tyrone to partition. 1991
  Only in print at  SREF941.5003/1
A dictionary of Irish biography. 1978
  Only in print at SREF920.0415/8
The Oxford companion to Irish literature. 1996
  SREF820.99415/34
The Macmillan dictionary of Irish literature. 1980
  Only in print at SREF820.99415/9
A Yeats dictionary : persons and places in the poetry of William Butler Yeats. 1998
  Only in print at SREF821.9/YEA/37
The Cambridge companion to Oscar Wilde. 1997
  Only in print at S822.8/WIL/C-27
Who's he when he's at home : a James Joyce directory. 1980
 
A guide to the characters in the works of James Joyce.
Only in print at SREF823.9/JOY/C-82
Ulysses annotated : notes for James Joyce's Ulysses. 2nd ed 1988
  Only in print at SREF823.9/JOY/C-111
The Oxford literary guide to the British Isles. 1977
  Only in print at SREF820.3/12