go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Japanese Studies Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Databases

 Bibliography of Asian Studies  1971+
  Indexes Asian studies scholarly journals covering a range of subject areas, especially in the humanities and social sciences. Not a very effective database.
 Historical Abstracts  1982+
 
Academic coverage of world history from 1450 to present. Print index at SREF905/35 and SREF905/36 from 1955 onwards. Use America: History and Life for Amercian related items.
 Anthropology Plus 19th century+
 
Everything you want to know about anthropology.
Scopus  
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
 
ISI indexes the top ranking journals in every discipline as well as having a Cited Reference Search. On entering the database, deselect the Science Citation Index.
For more subject specific databases, see the section "Databases by subject area" below, e.g Society and Communication, etc
 Australian centred databases
 APAIS (Australian Public Affairs Information Service) full text  index from 1978+ and full text from 1995+
 
Major database for material published in Australia.
Link MAIS (Multicultural Australia) with APAIS and search together by clicking the Change button and ticking the box next to both databases. Then click Start Searching.
 Factiva full text
 
Huge international content and a major resource for contemporary Australian newspapers.

Multidisciplinary databases

Multidisciplinary databases with SCHOLARLY content
 Periodicals Archive Online full text 1770+
 
Scholarly with many articles about Japan. Choose catagories from the Journal Subject for better results.
 JSTOR full text early 1800 + with a moving wall 3/5 years from the present.
 
JSTOR now opens at the Advanced Search. Scroll down and tick relevant subject areas e.g. Language and Literature, Asian Studies etc. Then enter your search terms. N.B. Earlier articles do not have abstracts so full text searching might be necessary. TIP! To avoid book reviews, see under Narrow your search to, tick Articles e.g.
These Types:            
 Project Muse full text 1982+
 
Scholarly database. Interesting content for culture and history.
 
 British Humanities Index  1962+
  Index with SFX links.
 PAIS International  1972+
 
Index only. Note Select database link on interface. Click and scroll down to PAIS International 1915+. Tick both PAIS databases to search together.
Multidisciplinary databases with general and scholarly content
N.B. These are large databases and (except for Factiva) they allow researchers to limit their search to peer reviewed or scholarly journals via an option on the search page.
 Expanded Academic full text  1980+
   Multidisciplinary with scholarly content. Note limit to refereed publications search option.
 Factiva full text
  Huge international content and a major resource for Australian newspapers.
 Business Source Premier full text  prior to 1986+
 
Multidisciplinary with scholarly content. Note 
 Wilson Omnifile Full Mega Text full text index from 1982, full text from 1994+
 
Multidisciplinary with scholarly content. Note Peer Reviewed search option. 
 

Subject specific databases

Language and Literature
 
 
Index only. Print index at SREF405/16 from 1967+
 MLA International Bibliography from 1981+
  Index only. Print index at SREF805/50 from 1921+
History, and Politics
 
 Historical Abstracts  from 1982+
  Index only. Print index at SREF905/35 and SREF905/36 from 1955+
 America : history and life from 1982+
  Index only. Print index at SREF970.005/2 from 1964+
  History Compass is an online resource from Blackwell Publishing which publishes original survey articles within 9 online journals, combined with a range of useful reference resources. Includes 'Original Articles and Expert Opinion'.
 International Political Science Abstracts from 1989+
  Index with SFX links.
 Politics and International Relations full text  SAGE Full Text, 1982+
  CSA database.
  Index only. Print index at SREF050/80 from 1969+
Sociology and communications
 Sociological Abstracts (CSA) from 1974+
  Index with SFX links. Large amounts on Japanese society and culture.
 Sociology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 1982+
  Subset of above CSA database.
 Women's Resources International 1972+
  Index only.
 Anthropology Plus 19th century+
  Everything you want to know about anthropology.
 Communication Abstracts 1977+
  CSA database with SFX links.
  Subset of above CSA database.
 Communication & Mass Media Complete full text
  Ebsco database.
  Index only.
Education and Philosophy 
 
 ERIC Educational Resources from 1966+
 
Index with SFX link.
 Education Complete full text   1986+
 
Part of PQD5000, see Multidisciplinary lists.
 
Index with SFX links.
 Alternative Press Index  1991+
 
Index only. Print index at SREF050/80 from 1969+

Newspapers

 Times Digital Archive (London) full text  1785-1985
  Use keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
 New York Times full text  1851-2001
 
Full text via the Proquest database.
 Factiva full text  1980s+
  Huge range of English and foreign language neswpapers that can go back to the 1980s. Includes Le Monde and The Washington Post. Australian publications include Sydney Morning Herald (1986+), Australian Financial Review (1982+), The Age (1991+) and The Australian. To search only Australian content click Source, find My Source Lists in the drop down menu, then highlight Group: Australian Publications. Before searching check the date drop-down menu.

Theses databases

 Sirius Theses Page
  This is a link to the Sirius Thesis page which lists all the main resources for theses including Writing and presenting your thesis or dissertation. This can be generated independently by entering Sirius and clicking Find Resources, click Locate, using the Type dropdown menu select Theses.
 Proquest Dissertations and Theses full text
  With more than 2 million entries, PQD&T is the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and masters theses. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Masters theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.
 Index to Theses
  Contains records of theses accepted for higher degrees by the universities of Great Britain and Ireland.
 Australian Digital Theses full text
  Provides full text access to recent Australian PhD and Masters by research theses. Theses available to download in PDF format.

Libraries Australia

Libraries Australia (KINETICA) The National Bibliographic Database
  Kinetica enables you to search the holdings of 850 libraries in Australia, including all the major university libraries. Postgraduates and Academic/General Staff can request the loan of items or material not held in UNSW Library via the Interlibrary Loans request form.