go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Japanese Studies Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Reference Resources

Encyclopaedias & Dictionaries

Kodansha encyclopedia of Japan 1983
  Also in print at SREF952.003/4 (1-9)
Encyclopedia Japonica 1971
  SREF039.956/1/(1-23)
The Cambridge encyclopedia of Japan 1993
  SREF952.003/7
Japan: An illustrated encyclopedia 1993
  SREF952.003/8
Modern Japan : an encyclopedia of history, culture, and nationalism 1998
  SREF952/160
Encyclopedia of contemporary Japanese culture 2002
  SREF952.0403/1
Encyclopedia of Japan : Japanese history and culture, from abacus to zori 1991
  SREF952.003/5
Encyclopedia of Asian history 1988
  SREF950/87 (1-4)
Japan: A pocket guide 2000
  SREF952.005/12
Companion encyclopedia of Asian philosophy 1997
  SREF181/11
Japan: an international comparison
  SREF338.095205/27
Facts and figures of Japan 1980 onwards
  SREF315.205/3
Politics and international relations resource
A fully-searchable and cross-referenced database from Routledge Reference Resources. It includes over 30 reference books published by Routledge, such as Dictionary of the Modern Politics of Japan; Encyclopedia of International Relations and Global Politics; Routledge Encyclopedia of International Political Economy.

Print indexes to older journal articles

C.R.I.S. : the combined retrospective index set to journals in history 1838 to 1974
  SREF900/53/(1-8)
C.R.I.S. : the combined retrospective index set to journals in political science 1886 to 1974
  SREF320/170/(1-6)
C.R.I.S. the combined retrospective index set to journals in sociology 1895 to 1974
  SREF301/512/(1-6)
Cumulative subject index to the PAIS annual bulletins 1915 to 1974
  SREF300.5/29
Cumulative index to periodical literature
  SREF050/46
Reader's Guide to periodical literature 1900 onwards
  SREF050/47
Social sciences & humanities index 1907 onwards
  SREF300.5/30