go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Linguistics Subject Guide

 
Key Resources | Databases | JournalsReference Resources | Internet Links

Databases

 Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts from 1973+
  Index with SFX links. Main resource for linguistics and language. Records include DE (Descriptor) field for subject searching, and a Thesaurus search option below the search box.
 Linguistics Abstracts Online
  Blackwell Publishing. As yet there are no SFX links to full text sources so researchers will need to copy and paste the title of the journal into the LRD Catalogue to see if  the article is available in print or electronically. 
 MLA International Bibliography from 1981+
  Index with SFX links. Coverage of  language, literature and linguistics.
 Literature Online (Lion, via proquest)
  More than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 168 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources
 International Bibliography of the Social Sciences : IBSS from 1951+ via Ovid
  Multidisciplinary database which indexes about 2,400 journal titles and up to 7,000 books annually, including reviews and book chapters.
 ERIC from 1966+
  Education database, with SFX links. ERIC (Educational Resources) is the main resource for education studies.
 Psycinfo from 1887+
  Psychology database with SFX links. The main resource for all researchers of psychology.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
 ISI Web of Science from 1945+
  Multidisciplinary index with SFX links. ISI indexes the top ranking journals in every field. On entry, deselect Science Citation Index.
 APAIS (Australian Public Affairs Information Service) full text index from 1978+, full text from 1995+

Multidiscipinary Databases

 Multidisciplinary databases with scholarly content 
 N.B. These databases (except for Project Muse) allow the reseacher to limit their search to nominated subject areas.  
 JSTOR 
  JSTOR now opens to Advanced Search screen. On entry, scroll down and tick subject areas e.g. Language and Literature under Select Disciplines or Journals. To search without book review items, which are very numerous, see 'Narrow Your Search To': and tick only Article, e.g.
These Types:            
 Periodicals Archives Online full text 1770+
  Like JSTOR, PAO allows researchers to select and search by category for better results. Next to Journal Subject, see the Select from list link. Click this link and then select your categories e.g. Linguistics/Philosophy etc.
 ScienceDirect full text 1823+ as an index, selected titles full text from 1900+ and a comprehensive collection full text from 1995+
  From the ScienceDirect page click Search. Search in categories by pressing Ctrl key and highlighting your choice e.g. Arts & Humanities, Psychology and Social Science.
 Project Muse full text
  Scholarly content. Johns Hopkins University Press journals.
 Multidisciplinary databases with general and scholarly content
 N.B. These are large databases and (except for Factiva) they allow researchers to limit their search to peer reviewed or scholarly journals via an option on the search page. 
 Expanded Academic full text  
  Expanded Academic has a very effective subject search. Linguistics, as a term in a subject searches offers 891 records. See the Narrow by Subdivision option and the See Also list for  related subject headings.
Academic Research Library full text 1971+
Academic Research Library covers information in the social sciences and the humanities generally, including Language and Culture.
 Business Source Premier full text   some full text from 1922+, most from 1965+
  Business focused database. Indexes 4,000 journals including 3,600 full text scholarly publications and 1,000 peer reviewed journals. Includes Harvard Business Review. Searches can be limited to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
 Factiva full text  (no limit to peer reviewed or scholary journals)
  Multidisciplinary content and the main resource for international newspapers. Huge international content but strong on Australian content, including AFR, SMH, The Age & The Australian. To search the approximately 163 Australian publications only, click Source, find My Source Lists and then click Group: Australian Publications. N.B.  choose Enter date range when looking for specific articles.
 Wilson Omnifile full text
  Multidisciplinary. Can be limited to search on chosen subject areas via the Subject Areas drop down menu: choose Education IndexHumanitiesSocial Science Index by holding down Shift key and select by clicking.
 
 

Scholarly Databases/Communications databases/E-book and E-dictionaries and E-encyclopedias

  Index with SFX links and some full text. A search for linguistics in the Thesaurus finds 1,200 items plus many interesting related subject headings.
 British Humanities Index  1962+
   British database with a UK, European bias.
 ASSIAnet : Applied Social Science Abstracts from 1987+
  Index with some full text links. Note the useful Thesaurus search, below the search box.
 Philosopher's Index  1940 onwards
  Index, with SFX links.
 Communications databases
 Communication Abstracts  (via CSA) 1977+
 Communication Studies: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 1982+ (Subset of above CSA database)
 Communication & Mass Media Complete full text (via Ebsco)
 
 Electronic books and electronic reference resources
 Oxford Scholarship Online full text electronic books database
 Oxford Reference Online full text
 Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy full text
 
 

Special Focus Databases

Current Contents
  A current awareness service indexing journals in advance of publication.
Proquest Dissertations and Theses  full text
  PQD&T is the definitive guide to more than 2 million doctoral dissertations and masters theses, including access to more than 90 percent of the doctoral dissertations accepted each year in North America plus thousands of dissertations and theses from around the globe.
Index to Theses
  Contains records of theses accepted for higher degrees by the universities of Great Britain and Ireland.
Australian Digital Theses full text
  Provides full text access to recent Australian PhD and Masters by research theses. Theses available to download in PDF format.
Libraries Australia (KINETICA) The National Bibliographic Database
  Kinetica enables you to search the holdings of 850 libraries in Australia, including all the major University libraries. Postgraduates and Academic/General Staff can request the loan of items or material not held in UNSW Library via the Interlibray Loans request form.