go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Linguistics Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Key Resources

 Databases for searching the contents of journals
 
 
LLBA indexes scholarly journals and is searchable with keywords and Boolean operators e.g. "politeness and cultur*". 
Finding article text: When the text of the article is not given, click the SFX button on the record to link to the electronic journal and to the LRD for a journal search, if that journal is part of UNSW Library collection. Alternatively, copy and paste the title of the journal into the LRD catalogue.
Subject searching: On any record, click View Record to find the Abstract and the Descriptors, (Subject Headings). Click on any of these Descriptors to generate a subject search e.g. DE=(Language Culture Relationship), and limit this with a keyword by adding a Boolean AND, followed by your keyword.
 
 
Another scholarly database that searches the contents of scholarly journals. MLA specialises in language, literature and linguistics. To find Subject Headings on records click the Complete Record link at the bottom of the brief record display. For a complete list of relevant databases see this guide's Database page. 
 Reference Resources
 
Includes a range of electronic reference databases including dictionaries, encyclopedias and thesauri.
 
Encyclopedia of language and linguistics 1994
 
SREF403/11 (1-10) Print encyclopedia located in the Social Sciences Library Level 3. Encyclopedias give extensive information definitions.
 LRD Catalogue
The LRD Catalogue indexes the holdings of UNSW Library, including books, journals, and databases etc. The LRD does not search the contents of journals. 
Type the keywords "lingustics theory" and choose All keywords search. Look at several records to see if they are relevant. Click "Availability" to see if the item is borrowed or on the shelf. Find the record for "The language of early childhood" and click on its title to find the subject headings. Click "Language acquisition" to generate a subject search. Retrieve your previous search via the Previous Search tab.
MyCourse
MyCourse is the search engine for the UNSW Library Reserve. Lecturers place in Reserve the items they want their students to use. You can search MyCourse for a known item or by keyword, but the first search should be using your course code to find all items your lecturer wants you to access. Example: Click the above MyCourse link. Type your course code e.g. LING5019 (LANGUAGE ACQUISTION).

Related Subject Guides