go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Media & Communications Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Databases

For a brief online tutorial click this link  How to...Using Databases
Communication & Mass Media Complete full text  
  One of the Ebsco databases. Broad coverage of media issues. Very useful for social and technical aspects of media.
Communication  Abstracts
  Published with the cooperation of the School of Communications and Theater, Temple University, Philadelphia, Pa.
Communication Studies: A SAGE Full-Text Collection
  A full text subset of above.
History of Science,Technology and Medicine
  Indexes journals, chapters in books and reports. International coverage. (1970+)
Art Full Text
  International coverage of art periodicals. Includes many areas of media, including performance media.
MLA International Bibliography
  Major international resource for language and literature. Includes coverage of rhetoric and transition from text to film and other media.
Project Muse
  Full text multidisciplinary database produced by Johns Hopkins University. Good coverage of media.

Multidisciplinary databases

ABI/Inform Global  full text 
Provides indexing and abstracting of 1,500 journal titles in business, economics and related disciplines. The full text is provided to about 750 of these journals.
Expanded Academic full text
  Coverage of a wide range of academic journals, including a number in the area of media.
 
Multidisciplinary with scholarly content. Note Peer Reviewed search option.
Australian Public Affairs Information Service (APAIS) full text  
  Major index to journals and periodicals published in Australia.
JSTOR full text
  Provides retrospective access to a range of journals (pre 1995+)  Click on browse to see the range of journals included, or search across a range of journals.

Libraries Australia, Scopus & Web of Science

Libraries Australia  
Formerly called Kinetica. Useful database for finding the location of items in other libraries in Australia. Includes holdings for 850 Australian libraries. 
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
Web of Science
Provides citation indexing, which is searching to find out who has cited a particular book or journal article. 

Newspapers full text

Factiva
Full text access to newspapers from all over the world, e.g. London Times, New York Times. Includes major Australian newspapers such as the Sydney Morning Herald. To access the SMH before 1980s, issues are available in the Library on microfilm.  SM/164  (Aug. 1, 1842-Dec. 2005)
Times Digital Archive
The complete digital edition of The Times (London). Use keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.  1785-1995. Recent articles in Factiva.
New York Times
Full text of this major US newspaper.  PDF format. 1851-2001. Recent articles in Factiva.
Newsbank
The electronic editions of record for valuable local, regional, and national newspapers.

Subject specific databases

Alternative Press Index
  Indexes journals outside the main academic stream.
America : history and life
  A major index to Americana, including film and cultural traditions.
Australian Education Index
  Index to published and unpublished material about all levels of education. Includes coverage of media education.
British Humanities Index
  Includes coverage of Europe and Commonwealth countries.
ERIC  
  Major international resource for all aspects of education, including media education.
Philosopher's Index  
  Includes good coverage of ethics.

Theses Databases

 Sirius Theses page
  This is a link to the Sirius Thesis page which lists all the main resources for theses including Writing and presenting your thesis or dissertation. This can be independently navigated by clicking Sirius, clicking Find Resources, click Locate  and using the Type dropdown menu, select Theses
 
Replaces Digital Dissertations. Covers North American theses from 1861 onwards, with abstracts included from 1980. Includes UNSW doctoral theses (from 1974) and theses from most universities in Great Britain (from 1988). Of the  more than 2 million listed, more than 600,000 of the more recent theses are now available for immediate free download. 
Index to theses
  Contains records of theses accepted for higher degrees by the Universities of Great Britain and Ireland.
Australian Digital Theses Program full text
  Australian theses. The ADT database provides access to PhD and Masters by Research theses only. Theses available to download in PDF format.