go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Media & Communications Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Key Resources

New media :  a critical introduction /  Martin Lister ... [et al.].  2003
  Only in print at S302.23/188 
McGraw-Hill encyclopedia of science & technology. 9th ed. 2002
  Only in print at PREF503/31M/(1-20) [Level 7]
Oxford Reference Online full text
Online access to a large range of Oxford reference resources. Includes A Dictionary of the Internet.
Safari Tech Books Online
  Provides full text access to a selection of current titles in over 20 technical categories including Web Authoring, Windows Programming, Software Engineering, Java, Linux/Unix, Perl and XML. Powerful searching and browsing capability allows the collection to be searched as a database as well as for individual titles.
Sage dictionary of cultural studies. 2004
  Only in print at SREF306.03/7
Encyclopedia of social theory. 2005
  Only in print at  SREF301.01/357/(1-2)
Art Full Text
  International coverage of art periodicals. Includes areas of multimedia & media technology and design.
Communication & Mass Media Complete full text  
  Broad coverage of media issues. Very useful for social and technical aspects of media.
Film literature index.
  Only in print at SREF791.4305/37
Comprehensive international coverage of all aspects of film. Features a separate section on television and video production. (1973+)
Catalogue Library Resources Database (LRD)
 
The LRD is the Library's catalogue. It is a complete listing of all items held by the Library, in all formats and is a good starting point for finding information. Use the LRD in particular to search for books relating to your topic of interest.
 
 The following are some suggested search terms in the LRD.
 
culture study and teaching [use for cultural studies ]
digital media social aspects
information society
information technology political aspects
information technology social aspects
interactive multimedia social aspects
intercultural communication
mass media influence [use for new media ]
mass media social aspects [use for new media ]
mass media political aspects [use for new media ]
mass media technological innovations
persuasion rhetoric
 
 

Related Subject Guides