go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Media & Communications Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Reference Resources

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Oxford Reference Online full text
  Online access to this important resource. Includes A Dictionary of the Internet.
McGraw-Hill encyclopedia of science & technology. 9th ed. 2002
  Only in print at PREF503/31M/(1-20) [Level 7]
Sage dictionary of cultural studies. 2004
  Only in print at SREF306.03/7
A concise glossary of cultural theory. 1999
  Only in print at SREF306.01/36
A dictionary of communication and media studies. 4th ed. 1997
  Only in print at SREF302.03/2
Penguin dictionary of critical theory. 2001
  Only in print at SREF300.3/16
Encyclopedia of international media and communications. 2003
  Only in print at SREF302.2303/2/(1-4)
New media :  a critical introduction. 2003
  Only in print at S302.23/188
Flew, T. New media :  an introduction. 2005
  Only in print at S302.23/214
Encyclopedia of social theory. 2005
  Only in print at SREF301.01/357/(1-2)
Get the picture : essential data on Australian film, television, video and interactive media.  6th ed. 2002
  Only in print at SREF791.430994/51E

Additional Reference Resources

Safari Tech Books Online
  Provides full text access to a selection of current titles in over 20 technical categories including Web Authoring, Windows Programming, Software Engineering, Java, Linux/Unix, Perl and XML. Powerful searching and browsing capability allows the collection to be searched as a database as well as for individual titles.