go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Middle East History Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Databases

 International Political Science Abstracts (IPSA)
  Coverage of Middle East history and international relations from 1989 onwards.
 Historical Abstracts
 Covers world history from 1450 to present and indexes journals, monographs, dissertations from 1982 onwards.
Wilson Omnifile full text
  Includes coverage of the Humanities Index, Social Sciences Index and the Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature.
Expanded Academic full text
  This database provides the full text version of a wide range of academic journals, including a number in the area of Middle East history, from 1980 onwards.
 PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) 
  Interdisciplinary service that has a wide coverage of topics in public affairs, public policy, international relations, current affairs, politics, government and environmental policy from 1972 onwards.
 International Bibliography of the Social Sciences  
  IBSS indexes about 2,400 journal titles and up to 7,000 books annually, including reviews and book chapters from 1951 onwards. Provides information on various aspects of the Middle East.
 Sociological Abstracts 
  Major international resource for sociology. Coverage of Middle East issues from 1974 onwards.
JSTOR full text
  Provides retrospective fulltext access to a range of journals. Click on browse to see the range of journals included, or search across a range of journals.

Special Focus Databases

Proquest dissertations and theses  
 
Replaces Digital Dissertations. Covers North American theses from 1861 onwards, with abstracts included from 1980. Includes UNSW doctoral theses (from 1974) and theses from most universities in Great Britain (from 1988). Of the  more than 2 million listed, more than 600,000 of the more recent theses are now available for immediate free download. 
Index to Theses
  Contains records of theses accepted for higher degrees by the universities of Great Britain and Ireland.
 Australian Digital Theses Program full text
  Provides full text access to recent Australian PhD and Masters by research theses. Theses available to download in PDF format.
Libraries Australia
  Provides access to the National Bibliographic Database, which contains about 9 million bibliographic records for books, serial titles and other items held in over 850 Australian libraries.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
 Web of Science
  Provides citation indexing, which is searching to find out who has cited a particular book or journal article.