go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Music Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Databases

 For a brief online tutorial click this link  How to...Using Databases
Music Index
  Covers all aspects of Music and Music Education. (1979+)
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
  Major international resource for research in Music and Music Education.
New Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians full text
  Online access to this important resource. Includes New Grove Dictionary of Opera.
Print version at SREF780.3/54B/(1-20)
ERIC
  Major international resource for all aspects of education. (1966+)
Classical Music Library
  Classical music library is a streaming classical music service that enables listening and learning at library and home computers. It is a complete collection of recordings with a supplementary reference database, enabling patrons to listen to music while simultaneously searching and browsing the vast reference database.
Naxos Music Library
  Similar to above.
Music Australia
  MusicAustralia is an online service developed by the National Library of Australia and the National Film and Sound Archive. MusicAustralia helps you to find, access and navigate a rich store of information on Australian music, musicians, organisations and services from a single access point.

Multidisciplinary databases (many with full text)

Australian Public Affairs Information Service (APAIS) full text
  Major index to journals and periodicals published in Australia. (1978+)
Factiva full text
  Full text coverage of a wide range in international newspapers, including the SMH, Australian Financial Review and The Australian. Good source for performance reviews.
Expanded Academic full text
  Coverage of a wide range of academic journals, including a number in the area of music. Good coverage of ethnomusicology. (1980+)
Wilson Omnifile full text
  Includes coverage of the Social Sciences Index, The Humanities Index and Reader's Guide.
JSTOR full text  1800+
  Provides retrospective access to a range of journals. Click on browse to see the range of journals included, or search across a range of journals.
Periodicals Archive Online
  Similar to JSTOR in providing full text access to older issues of journals. Click on browse to see the range of journals included, or search across a range of journals.
Project Muse full text
  Provides access to over 40 Johns Hopkins University Press academic journals. Coverage includes music.

Subject specific databases

Alternative Press Index
  Indexes journals outside the main academic stream. Useful for information on World music. (1991+)
America : history and life
  A major index to Americana, including music and cultural traditions. (1982+)
Arts Hub
   Arts Hub is the online home for Australian arts workers.
The database includes:
Jobs Bulletin, online employment resource listing positions vacant and positions wanted, including job opportunities from the UK and USA.
News about Australia's arts industry news service, including news and current affairs issues from both Australia and overseas.
 A+ Education full text
  Replaces Australian Education Index. A+  indexes journal contents from 1978+ and offers full text from  2000+
Bibliography of Asian Studies
  Indexes Western language periodicals. Includes coverage of Asian music and performing arts traditions. (1971+)
British Humanities Index
  Includes coverage of Europe and Commonwealth countries.
Historical Abstracts
  Covers world history from 1450 to present. Does not include American history. (see above, America : history and life (1982+)
Communication & Mass Media Complete full text 
  Broad coverage of media issues. Includes coverage of new media.
  Major international resource for research in psychology. Useful for topics such as psychology of music ; psychology of performance ; music as therapy etc.
Sociological Abstracts
  Major international index to research literature in sociology. Includes coverage of ethnomusicology. (1974+)

Libraries Australia, Scopus & Web of Science

Libraries Australia 
Formerly called Kinetica. Useful database for finding the location of items in other libraries in Australia. Includes holdings for 850 Australian libraries. 
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
Web of Science
Provides citation indexing, which is searching to find out who has cited a particular book or journal article. 

Theses Databases

 Sirius Theses page
  This is a link to the Sirius Thesis page which lists all the main resources for theses including Writing and presenting your thesis or dissertation. This can be independently navigated by clicking Sirius, clicking Find Resources, click Locate  and using the Type dropdown menu, select Theses
 
Replaces Digital Dissertations. Covers North American theses from 1861 onwards, with abstracts included from 1980. Includes UNSW doctoral theses (from 1974) and theses from most universities in Great Britain (from 1988). Of the  more than 2 million listed, more than 600,000 of the more recent theses are now available for immediate free download. 
Index to theses
  Contains records of theses accepted for higher degrees by the Universities of Great Britain and Ireland.
Australian Digital Theses Program full text
  Australian theses. The ADT database provides access to PhD and Masters by Research theses only. Theses available to download in PDF format.